Kris Kristofferson Releases "Live At Gilley's" Tomorrow

Article Contributed by New West Records | Published on Thursday, September 1, 2022

Kris Kristofferson will release Live at Gilley’s - Pasadena, TX: September 15, 1981 tomorrow via New West Records. The previously unreleased 15-song set was the final date of Kristofferson’s 1981 tour and was recorded at the legendary Pasadena, TX honky tonk most well known for its role in the 1980 film Urban Cowboy. Kristofferson is backed by an incredible live band featuring Stephen Bruton, Billy Swan, Donnie Fritts, Tommy McClure, Glen Clark, and Sammy Creason. The album also features exclusive liner notes written by the country music legend & Gilley’s co-owner Mickey Gilley, as well as additional pieces written by the legendary George Strait, and Billy Swan.
Today, Taste of Country premiered the album in full, a day ahead of its release, exclaiming, "Too many albums are labeled as 'essential' in the 21st century, but this project truly transports country fans to an essential era in the genre's history. The Live at Gilley's album is raw, rowdy, and inspired." Hear Kris Kristofferson’s Live at Gilley’s - Pasadena, TX: September 15, 1981 in its entirety HERE.
From his liner notes written three months before his passing in May, Mickey Gilley offered, “Gilley’s could hold several thousand people, but the club was very intimate. You were right there on the stage with people all around you. You could bend down and shake hands with people.” He continued, “Right next to the club was the recording studio, and we recorded everything that was done onstage. We could record onto the 24-track machine that we had in the studio, then we would do the mixing…We booked a lot of shows around that time, including some people I didn’t think would want to play the club. We got some acts that made me think, ‘Are you kidding me?’...Kris Kristofferson was one of those artists that I didn’t think would want to play Gilley’s, because he was such a big name and a tremendous talent.”
George Strait exclaimed, “What a great album this is! Classic Kristofferson songs throughout, and live!! Kris was in his prime and his vocals were outstanding and very soulful as always. I got to play Gilley's a few times back in those days and this record takes me right back there. You can tell the crowd is loving him and he’s loving them right back. That’s what it’s all about. It was an exciting time to say the least. So close your eyes and listen to this record. Imagine you’re right there standing in front of the stage with the man himself looking right at you. I think you’ll get a really good idea of what Gilley's was like back then when Kris played there. What a treat that must’ve been.”

Kris Kristofferson's Live at Gilley’s - Pasadena, TX: September 15, 1981 will be available across digital platforms, on compact disc, and standard black vinyl. A very limited to 300 White Vinyl Edition will be available exclusively at Texas Retailers while a limited, foil stamped and numbered to 750, Opaque Metallic Silver Vinyl Edition will be available via Vinyl Me, Please. A limited Opaque Red with White Marble Vinyl Edition will be available at Independent Retailers and is available NOW via NEW WEST RECORDS.
Kris Kristofferson Live at Gilley’s - Pasadena, TX: September 15, 1981 Track Listing:
1. Me And Bobby McGee
2. Here Comes That Rainbow Again
3. Casey’s Last Ride
4. You Show Me Yours (And I’ll Show You Mine) / Stranger
5. Nobody Loves Anybody Anymore
6. Darby’s Castle
7. If It’s All The Same To You
8. The Pilgrim
9. For The Good Times
10. Sunday Mornin’ Comin’ Down
11. The Silver Tongued Devil And I
12. Smile At Me Again
13. Same Old Song
14. Loving Her Was Easier (Than Anything I’ll Ever Do Again)
15. Why Me