Lake Street Dive performs "Same Old News" on "Jimmy Kimmel Live!" + Additional summer tour dates confirmed

Article Contributed by Sacks and Company | Published on Thursday, May 20, 2021

Last night, Lake Street Dive performed the song “Same Old News” from their new album Obviously on “Jimmy Kimmel Live!” Watch/share the performance HERE. The band has also appeared on the “Late Show with Stephen Colbert,” “The Ellen DeGeneres Show” and “CBS This Morning: Saturday Sessions,” while their “Tiny Desk (Home) Concert” premiered on NPR Music in late April.

In support of Obviously, the band is set to perform around the U.S this summer, including headlining performances at New York City’s SummerStage, Chicago’s Ravinia Festival and Denver’s legendary Red Rocks Amphitheatre. In addition, the group will livestream their performances at Beak & Skiff Orchards in upstate New York on June 5 and 6 as well as their two-night runs at New Haven’s Westville Music Bowl on June 10 and 11. Fans can purchase access to the livestreams HERE. See below for the full tour schedule.

Obviously debuted at #5 on Billboard’s Top Albums chart while also delivering career best chart peaks at #1 on Americana/Folk, #2 on Current Rock Albums and #2 on Current Alternative Albums charts. In addition, lead single “Hypotheticals” is currently in the Top 10 at AAA, Non-Commercial and Americana radio.  The track soared to #2 on the AAA chart and topped both the Non-Commercial and Americana Radio Singles Chart, all marking career highs for the band.

Obviously is produced by Grammy Award-winning producer, songwriter, and multi-instrumentalist Mike Elizondo, best known as a songwriting collaborator with Dr. Dre, Eminem, and 50 Cent who has also produced records for Fiona Apple, Mary J. Blige, Carrie Underwood, and 21 Pilots, among many others. Utilizing Elizondo’s hip-hop record-making expertise, Lake Street Dive’s wide-ranging taste in pop, rock, R&B, and jazz have blended together to make an impressively cohesive sound, combining retro influences with a contemporary attitude while crafting songs that reflect this particularly turbulent chapter in our shared history.

The original members of Lake Street Dive founded the group in 2004 while attending the New England Conservatory of Music in Boston. The band features Rachael Price (lead vocals), Bridget Kearney (bass), Mike Calabrese (drums), Akie Bermiss (keyboards) and Mike “McDuck” Olson (trumpet, guitar). Since the band’s inception they have released seven studio albums, which have an overall consumption in the U.S. of nearly 700,000 units, including more than 350 million streams and 400,000 album sales. The group has toured internationally, performing at major music festivals including Bonnaroo, New Orleans Jazz, and Newport Folk.

For additional information on the record, see the group’s bio/artist notes HERE.


1. Hypotheticals

2. Hush Money

3. Same Old News

4. Being a Woman

5. Making Do

6. Nobody’s Stopping You Now

7. Know That I Know

8. Lackluster Lover

9. Anymore

10. Feels Like the Last Time

11. Sarah


June 4-6—Lafayette, NY—Beak & Skiff Orchards

June 10-11—New Haven, CT—Westville Music Bowl

August 21—Portland, ME—Thompson’s Point

August 22—Burlington, VT—The Green at Shelburne

August 24—New York, NY—SummerStage, Central Park

August 26 —Chicago, IL—Ravinia Festival

August 29—Moorhead, MN—Sister Cities Smokeout 2021

September 11—Chattanooga, TN—Moon River Festival

September 24—Salt Lake City, UT—Twilight Concert Series

September 26—Morrison, CO—Red Rocks Amphitheatre