Marshall Crenshaw Historical Release Out August 27

Article Contributed by Leighton Media | Published on Thursday, August 19, 2021

Sunset Blvd. Records is proud to release The Wild, Exciting Sounds of Marshall Crenshaw: Live In The 20th and 21st Century, a two-disc live retrospective of the acclaimed songwriter/performer’s work from the early 1980s to date.  The album is due out August 27, 2021.

Whether you’ve been a Crenshaw fan for 40 years or know little beyond “Someday, Someway,” this 2 CD set is a revelation. Disc one, recorded in 1982 and 1983, is filled with performances from radio shows in New York, Boston and New Jersey, and focuses largely on songs from his self-titled debut album and the follow-up, Field Day.

“It was such a cool band, with Chris Donato, me and Robert, and our brother John hitting the orchestra bells and the tambourine and whatever else he had up there; it sounds like kids having fun.”

Disc two, which Marshall curated himself, is a sampler of his work from the last 25 years, featuring live versions of songs that appeared on many different albums and EPs.  On six tracks Marshall Crenshaw is ably backed by The Bottle Rockets, featuring the off-the-chain guitar stylings of John Horton, and Brian Hennemen (and M.C. himself).

The package comes complete with detailed liner notes, written by Marshall, and many never- before-seen photos from over the years and decades.

Track Listing
1.   Monday Morning Rock
2.   Try
3.   Brand New Lover
4.   There She Goes
5.   Something’s Gonna Happen
6.   Here I Am
7.   Whenever You’re On My Mind
8.   Mary Anne
9.   A Big Hunk O’Love
10. Rockin’ Around in NYC
11. I’ll Do Anything
12. Our Town
13. Cynical Girl
14. Got A Lot O’ Livin’ To Do
15. Someday, Someway
16. What Time Is It?
17. Passing Through
18. Something’s Gonna Happen
19. Walkin’ Around
20. Kit Kat Clock
21. Live And Learn
22. What Do You Dream Of?
23. I Don’t See You Laughing Now
24. Calling Out For Love (At Crying Time)
25. Television Light
26. Valerie