Miranda Lambert's Rendition of Billy Joe Shaver's "I'm Just An Old Chunk Of Coal (But I'm Gonna Be A Diamond Someday"

Article Contributed by gratefulweb | Published on Saturday, September 17, 2022

New West Records & Pedernales Records are proud to announce Live Forever: A Tribute To Billy Joe Shaver to be released November 11th, 2022. The 12-song set was co-produced by Charlie Sexton & Freddy Fletcher and features renditions of Shaver songs lovingly recorded by Willie Nelson and Lucinda Williams, George Strait, Miranda Lambert, Nathaniel Rateliff, Ryan Bingham and Nikki Lane, Steve Earle, Edie Brickell, Rodney Crowell, Margo Price, Allison Russell, and Amanda Shires.

The Texas singer-songwriter who died on October 28th, 2020 was an integral member of the Outlaw Country movement. A favorite among music legends, Johnny Cash once called Shaver “my favorite songwriter,” while Willie Nelson declared, “Billy Joe is definitely the best writer in Texas.” Upon the announcement of Live Forever: A Tribute To Billy Joe Shaver, Nelson said, “He was just real; there wasn’t one phony drop of blood in him.” AllMusic called Shaver’s songs “among the greatest in the whole history of the (country) genre” while the Washington Post said, “When the country outlaws were collecting their holy writings, Billy Joe Shaver was carving out Exodus.”

Rolling Stone Country premiered Miranda Lambert’s rendition of Shaver’s “I’m Just An Old Chunk Of Coal (But I’m Gonna Be A Diamond Someday)” saying her interpretation "sparkles as a barroom jam with tinkling piano, a swinging rhythm, and drawling vocals." Miranda Lambert told Rolling Stone, "Billy Joe’s words have inspired countless artists for decades…myself included. I was singing his songs in honky tonks all across our home state of Texas by the time I could drive. 'I’m Just an Old Chunk of Coal' was always one of my favorites to perform. I was honored when they asked me to record it for this project and join so many of my heroes to celebrate his incredible legacy."  
Share Miranda Lambert's “I’m Just An Old Chunk Of Coal (But I’m Gonna Be A Diamond Someday)”

Variety previously premiered Willie Nelson & Lucinda Williams’ rendition of Shaver’s signature tune, “Live Forever” alongside a feature with co-producers Charlie Sexton & Freddy Fletcher. From his album liner notes, Fletcher wrote of Shaver, “His influence on the greatest of artists is what inspired this project. The album is a testament to his words and their deep impact on wonderful songwriters and performers. He’s a hero to so many, and we are honored to pay homage to his legacy.”
On the topic of songwriting, Billy Joe Shaver once said “when you write songs, and you write good songs, people will always remember you. Words will always outlive us. And if your name is attached to those words, you’re gonna live forever.”
Live Forever: A Tribute To Billy Joe Shaver will be available across digital retailers, on compact disc, and standard black vinyl. A limited to 500 “Old Chunk of Coal” Color Vinyl Edition will be available via Vinyl, Me Please, a limited to 300 Purple, Blue & Green Marble Vinyl Edition will be available via the Magnolia Record Club, and a limited to 300 Gold & Green Color Vinyl Edition will be available via Heady Wax Fiends. A limited to 500 “Denim” Vinyl Edition is available for pre-order NOW via NEW WEST RECORDS.

Live Forever: A Tribute To Billy Joe Shaver Track Listing:

1. Willie Nelson (w/ Lucinda Williams) - Live Forever
2. Ryan Bingham (w/ Nikki Lane) - Ride Me Down Easy
3. Rodney Crowell - Old Five And Dimers Like Me
4. Miranda Lambert - I’m Just An Old Chunk Of Coal (But I’m Gonna Be A Diamond Someday)
5. Edie Brickell - I Couldn’t Be Me Without You
6. Nathaniel Rateliff - You Asked Me To
7. George Strait - Willy The Wandering Gypsy And Me
8. Amanda Shires - Honky Tonk Heroes
9. Steve Earle - Ain’t No God In Mexico
10. Margo Price - Ragged Old Truck
11. Willie Nelson - Georgia On A Fast Train
12. Allison Russell - Tramp On Your Street