New Orleans Suspects & special guests at Cervantes

Article Contributed by Michelle Roche… | Published on Wednesday, May 25, 2016

NEW ORLEANS SUSPECTS will return to Denver with two shows at Cervantes. The band will perform in The Masterpiece Ballroom on Friday, June 24th with special guests Duane Trucks (Widespread Panic), Eric McFadden (Anders Osborne) and DJ Logic.  Tickets are $20.00 in advance and $25.00 day of show.   They will perform in The Other Side on Saturday, June 25th with special guests Eric McFadden, Tori Peter, Chadzilla and more.   Tickets are $15.00 in advance and $20.00 day of show.  Both shows are open to patrons 16 and older.  For more information call 303-297-1772 or visit

New Orleans Suspects bring together some of the best, most highly respected players in New Orleans including:   “Mean” Willie Green on drums (Neville Bros.); Jeff Watkins on saxophone (James Brown Band, Joss Stone Band); Jake Eckert on guitar/vocals (Dirty Dozen Brass Band); CR Gruver on keyboards and vocals (Polytoxic, Outformation); and Charlie Wooten on bass (Royal Southern Brotherhood, Bonerama, Zac Brown Band).

The band is revered in New Orleans and is building a loyal audience with year-round touring.  San Diego Union Tribune called them “a rollicking blend of funk, jazz, blues, rock and vintage N’awlins R&B, designed to fill dance floors with gyrating celebrants.” 

The band's 2014 release Ouroboros (Louisiana Red Hot Records) features 10 original songs that define the band’s sound, which is one that puts their own twist on the traditions of New Orleans music--fever-inducing funk, irresistible R&B rhythms, Longhair rhumbas, dancing-in-the-street second lines, jazzy soul-drenched horns, mind-melting swamp hoodoo, and feet-don’t-fail-me-now Carnivale music.  The highly-acclaimed CD received substantial airplay on 3 SiriusXM stations:  Bluesville, Jam_ON and The Loft.

The band is currently putting the finishing touches on a new recording, Kaleidoscoped, which features a plethora of special guests including members of Little Feat, Tower of Power and "The Tonight Show" band.  The CD is tentatively scheduled for release for late summer or early fall of 2016.

For more information: