New Potato Caboose Release Their New Album ‘It Ain’t a Thing’

Article Contributed by Cyber PR | Published on Friday, August 5, 2022

New Potato Caboose have been a long loved staple in the Jam Band scene since their inception in the mid to late 1980’s, even sharing the stage with the likes of Blues Traveler, Widespread Panic, Dave Matthews Band, and legendary ground-floor acts such as The Band and the Neville Brothers. As the first band ever to play the iconic Wetlands venue in NYC, NPC was featured in the Sundance documentary, Wetlands Preserved.

By the early ‘90’s, the group was playing over 200 dates a year and garnering reviews in national publications including Billboard, Pollstar, and Variety. They’re currently performing at high-end venues such as Baltimore Soundstage, The National, and The Hamilton, bringing their superb live shows to a fervent fan base.

The band just released their new album, It Ain’t a Thing, a compilation of 10 songs, some new, some old favorites, and some unreleased gems. The sound is a clear arc of their career with a clear influence from The Grateful Dead, The Allman Brothers Band, and Crosby Stills and Nash. The concept of the album came in the middle of a recent concert, when a set went so well that each member of the band had the same “aha” moment. From that moment, the wheels started churning and they enlisted the help of their friend John Alagia (Dave Matthews Band, John Mayer, Ben Folds, Lukas Nelson and countless others) and his creative team was inspired to produce the project, tapping into the music scene roots they all share. John brought in sound engineer Jeff Moxley (Blues Traveler, Plain White T’s, The Chainsmokers) and L.A. mastering ace Whynot Jansveld (The Wallflowers, Sara Bareilles, Crash Test Dummies).

Long loved fan favorites include the gritty rocker “Hey Now Julia,” the ethereal heart-grabber “Accidental Ecstasy,” the grunge-infused “Brave New World,” and the punchy roller coaster ride “New Potato Stew.” New tunes focused on their current outlook on love, life, and living include the southern rock song “Georgia Angel,” the New Orleans-twinged rock “It Ain’t a Thing,” dynamic and compelling “The Whisper,” and the melodic and country-pop hinted “What’s the Real.” Unrecorded gems from after their touring break include the playful “Duke of Awesome,” the bluesy and light “Shine,” and the fun “Weed.”

Listen here:

Members of the band include Doug Pritchett on the acoustic guitar and vocals, Don Laux with the rhythm guitar and vocals, John “Red” Redling on keyboards and vocals, Tim Pruitt as the lead guitar and vocals, Mike Mahoney on bass, and the powerful double drums sound of John Trupp and John McConnell.