Scott Hirsch releases new album 'Windless Day'

Article Contributed by Big Hassle Media | Published on Sunday, October 10, 2021

Acclaimed singer-songwriter-producer-musician Scott Hirsch today releases his third solo album Windless Day through Echo Magic Records with Soundly Music. To mark the occasion, he’s sharing an imaginative new music video for the song “Night People.”
An original member of Hiss Golden Messenger, Hirsch notes that the video was made “with a couple friends, director Myles Jewell who animated, and fellow musician and photographer/cinematographer Brendan Willing James. I was inspired by the brilliant Charles and Ray Eames short film "Powers of Ten (1977)" - and the discovery of human beings' minuscule existence in the universe, and how it relates to our overinflated egos. Somehow these concepts were compatible for me with the context of my song "Night People" and generally being at the mercy of nature in our lives. I'm happy with how the collage nature of the visuals aligns with the way the song came together in the studio which was also in a patchwork, quilt-like fashion.
On Windless Day which Mojo gave a 4 out of 5 rating to Hirsch says, “When I started releasing music under my own name five short (long?) years ago, it was beyond my wildest dreams that I would complete one song, let alone one entire record. And I sit here on the precipice of releasing my THIRD full length. I feel elated, humbled, and supported that I can hold this vinyl, pop this cd in, or tell my phone to play these songs. Making my own records is a pathway to complete all my unused musical ideas in so I can connect with the world outside the studio. This process feels like magic to me. The fact that I have had this opportunity to do this now three times is heartening, and I have so much gratitude and love for those who have listened along and encouraged me.”
Hirsch will celebrate the release of Windless Day with a show at Gold Diggers in Los Angeles on October 14 and an outdoor show in his hometown of Ojai, California on the 15.

1. Spirit True
2. Much Too Late
3. Dreamer
4. Big Passenger
5. Redstone
6. Night People
7. The Price of Gold
8. Wolves
9. Drummer of Shiloh
10. Love Is Long