Cave Flowers to release self-titled debut album on January 31st, 2020

Article Contributed by Cave Flowers | Published on Thursday, November 7, 2019

Emerging band Cave Flowers deliver their brand new self-titled album. This eleven-track album gives the listeners a mix of rock and country, creating the perfect combination of uplifting guitar riffs and storytelling lyricism.

Inspired by legendary long-timers John Prine and Willie Nelson, Andy McAllister spent a good three years kicking the tires on new tunes, filling up notebooks and stockpiling stories. And after releasing three albums with his previous band Vanish Valley, he found himself drifting around Los Angeles - still dreaming of putting together a group that would reach for that laid-back California country sound that he originally left Seattle for in the first place. He reconnected with guitar and genuine renaissance man, Henry Derek Elis, who he first met 10 years ago when he moved to LA. Elis brought equal parts Waylon Jennings and Crazy Horse into the equation and the band quickly took shape with Ryan Wykert (Ivory Deville) on drums and Ben Coil on bass.

In a matter of months, the group swiftly sorted through McAllister’s song sketches, giving thumbs up to what immediately felt good, bringing the vibes and breathing new life into them. The band went into the Heritage Recording Company with Chris Rondinella (who got his start engineering for Levon Helm) and in two days tracked 11 songs live. Jon Niemann (Gospelbeach) and Frankie Palmer kindly added keys and pedal steel, respectively. The results are roll-your-window-down Americana mixed with a healthy dose of outlaw country goodness that might just hit the sweet spot on the ears just as the sun starts to set on the horizon.

Cave Flowers self-titled debut album releases on January 31st, 2020



2. RENTER'S LIFE (3:19)

3. COUNTRY FAN (3:53)


5. HIDEAWAYS (3:13)

6. UPPER HAND (6:51)

7. TRICK TEARS (3:57)


9. THE STRANGER (3:57)

10. GREAT HITS (2:49)