Dan Auerbach assembles the unsung heroes of juke-joint blues on Easy Eye Sound's 'Tell Everybody!'

Article Contributed by Shore Fire Media | Published on Saturday, August 12, 2023

Easy Eye Sound - the Nashville based label headed by Dan Auerbach and named Billboard’s 2022 Blues Label Of The Year - has shared Tell Everybody! (21st Century Juke Joint Blues From Easy Eye Sound) today; a gripping anthology surveying the current state of the blues. Featuring exclusive recordings, including a new song by The Black Keys, cut at Easy Eye Sounds’ Nashville studio, this snapshot of 21st century juke joint music captures a wide-ranging collection of artists brought together by a label that's earned 16 GRAMMY®-nominations, four Billboard #1 Blues Albums, and widespread acclaim since its founding in 2017. But beyond any of these accolades, Easy Eye Sound works to preserve the blues, uplift unsung voices in the genre and, in the process, build a thriving, multigenerational community. Across its twelve tracks, Tell Everybody! serves as a living embodiment of that core mission.

Listen to the full album Tell Everybody! (21st Century Juke Joint Blues From Easy Eye Sound) here: https://click.ees.link/telleverybody

Listen to The Black Keys' never-heard track "No Lovin'" from Tell Everybody! here: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=BvpD3Q_VbFc

Throughout its tracklist, Tell Everybody! features masters like Louisiana powerhouse Robert Finley, North Mississippi’s RL Boyce, Betonia’s Jimmy “Duck” Holmes, and the Delta gospel sounds of Leo Bud Welch; alongside brilliant youngbloods like Detroit duo Moonrisers, Chicago-based Gabe Carter, and Korean-American Kentucky native Nat Myers. Auerbach shares a pair of never-before-heard tracks from both The Black Keys and his solo work, and can be heard with members of The Arcs alongside Joe Walsh backing the late Ohio blues hero Glenn Schwartz - a seminal if unsung guitar mentor for both Auerbach and Walsh alike.

To celebrate the release, Easy Eye Sound threw a Juke Joint Jam album release party earlier this week at Nashville's Brooklyn Bowl. The event was headlined by The Black Keys, with the band that created the GRAMMY-nominated Delta Kream album — including Hill Country blues legends Kenny Brown (guitar) and Eric Deaton (bass) — and a special guest performance from Robert Finley with guest drummer Jeffrey Clemens. Additional sets were performed by Tell Everybody! contributors Jimmy “Duck” Holmes and Gabe Carter, who was joined by the Hill Country’s own Kinney Kimbrough on drums.

Tell Everybody! (21st Century Juke Joint Blues From Easy Eye Sound) Track List

RL Boyce - Coal Black Mattie

Robert Finley - Tell Everybody

Moonrisers - Tall Shadow

Dan Auerbach - Every Chance I Get (I Want You In The Flesh)

Jimmy “Duck” Holmes - Catfish Blues (Mono)

Gabe Carter - Anything You Need

Nat Myers - Willow Witchin’

Leo Bud Welch - Don't Let The Devil Ride (Mono)

The Black Keys - No Lovin’

Glenn Schwartz - Daughter Of Zion (Featuring Joe Walsh)

Gabe Carter - Buffalo Road

Glenn Schwartz - Collinwood Fire