The Garcia Project release first single from upcoming Jerry Garcia Tribute Album, Spirit

Article Contributed by The Garcia Project | Published on Sunday, December 15, 2019

A new album is being produced by Maria Muldaur and The Garcia Project and will be a collection of spiritual songs that Jerry Garcia performed throughout his life. The artists on the SPIRIT album will include (in alphabetic order):

• Mik Bondy (The Garcia Project, Acoustically Speaking)

• Buzz Buchanan (Jerry Garcia Band, Juice Newton)

• Dan Crea (The Garcia Project)

• Jason Crosby (Phil & Friends, Moonalice, Doobie Decibel System)

• Jacob Jolliff (Yonder Mountain String Band)

• Gary Kaye (Mill Valley Musician)

• Jacklyn LaBranch (Jerry Garcia Band)

• Maria Muldaur (Jerry Garcia Band)

• Tommy Nagy (The Garcia Project)

• Peter Rowan (Old and In The Way)

• Rick Turner (Co-Founder of Alembic, Wall of Sound, Model 1 guitar)

• Kat Walkerson (The Garcia Project, Acoustically Speaking)

Jerry Garcia performed many inspirational, spiritual and gospel songs over the course of his life. This album is a loving tribute to those songs and to Jerry Garcia’s beautiful spirit. The album will feature The Garcia Project’s (nationally touring tribute to classic Jerry Garcia Band) Mik Bondy and Kat Walkerson along with Maria Muldaur, The Garcia Project and other very special guests! Maria Muldaur will produce and direct the album.

“Hearing Jerry Garcia play and sing live for the first time, was an experience that I will never forget.” – Mik Bondy

I know that many others have enjoyed the passion and musical magic that Jerry Garcia brought to everything he did in his life. When I discovered the Jerry Garcia Band, in 1987, I was amazed and instantly hooked on the songs that he performed with his band and the way he performed them. We used to call going to Jerry Garcia Band shows “Jerry's Church” and it really was a church-like experience for many of us. We would get our spiritual fill and guidance from the songs and messages that Jerry brought to us. Back then, we were treated with songs like Sisters and Brothers, The Maker, Throw out the Lifeline and Lucky Old Sun. These songs helped bring a positive, reflective and bonding experience to us all.

Here is the first track, from our upcoming SPIRIT album! It is our version of “Throw Out the Lifeline”, which pays tribute to Jerry’s acoustic Americana and bluegrass stylings, and his collaborations with great artists such as Peter Rowan. Our version features Peter’s guitar and lead vocals backed by Kat Walkerson & Maria Muldaur. Mik Bondy on acoustic guitar, Dan Crea on bass, Jason Crosby on piano (Phil & Friends, Moonalice) and Jacob Jolliff on mandolin (Yonder Mountain String Band).

You can listen to a bit of it here and purchase the whole song for only $.99 on ITunes:

Every purchase will help The Garcia Project with the final production on the album. Thank you so much for your support!

Throw Out the Lifeline

(The first single from the upcoming 2020 release of “Spirit” - A loving tribute to Jerry Garcia by The Garcia Project & Friends)

Peter Rowan - Lead Vocals & Acoustic Guitar 

Maria Muldaur - Harmony

Kat Walkerson - Harmony

Mik Bondy - Acoustic Guitar 

Jacob Jolliff - Mandolin

Jason Crosby - Piano

Produced by Maria Muldaur

Mixed & Mastered by Joel Jaffee

Written by By Edwin S. Ufford; Published 1888

For more information and to PRE-ORDER the complete album, click here: