Latin Jazz Live in Concert by Mariah Parker

Article Contributed by Ancient Future | Published on Sunday, January 1, 2017

In 2009, Mariah Parker launched her Indo Latin Jazz Ensemble with a sold-out debut concert at Yoshi's in Oakland, California. Mariah’s new release for records, “Indo Latin Jazz Live in Concert,” captures the magic of that first performance, as well as subsequent Northern California concerts at the Freight & Salvage in Berkeley, the Throckmorton Theater in Mill Valley and a studio session at Bob Weir's TRI Studios in San Rafael. These multi-track live recordings were painstakingly mixed and mastered over a seven-year period by veteran Ancient Future producer Matthew Montfort. “Indo Latin Jazz Live in Concert” is a follow-up recording to “Sangria,” Mariah's debut CD, which received airplay on over 468 New World, Jazz, and Latin radio programs, and earned over 365 reviews and media placements, including two songs that ascended to the Smooth Jazz Now Top 100 Songs of 2009 Chart.

According to Latin Beat Magazine, Mariah Parker's Indo Latin Jazz Ensemble "blends the rhythmic syncopations of Latin jazz music with the entrancing, asymmetrical meters of East Indian rhythms resulting in first-class world music. Intriguing melodies that draw musical inspirations from the tempos of Brazil, Cuba, India, and Spain make for an uplifting serene yet passionate musical journey into an ideal world."

Mariah’s musicians on this new release are all virtuoso performers and some are bandleaders and composers of international acclaim. Mariah's ensemble includes: Paul McCandless, Grammy Award-winning woodwind virtuoso and co-founder of the chamber jazz ensemble Oregon; Matthew Montfort, founder and leader of the world fusion ensemble Ancient Future and pioneer of the scalloped fretboard guitar; Kash Killion, bassist with the Sun Ra Arkestra, cellist and performer on African and Indian string instruments; Ian Dogole, world percussionist, bandleader and collaborator with Ancient Future and Hamza el Din; Brian Rice, versatile percussionist specializing in Brazilian music, collaborator with Mike Marshall and Jovino Santos Neto; Duru Demetrius, Latin percussionist with jazz icons such as Joe Henderson and Herbie Hancock; Debopriyo Sarkar, tabla virtuoso who recently toured with the Kronos Quartet; and Fred Randolph, bandleader, composer and in-demand bassist who has performed with Maria Muldaur.

Release Date: January 20, 2017
Radio Add Date: March 13, 2017
Label: Records
Copyright: © 2016 Third Journey Music, BMI
Genres: Jazz/Latin Jazz/World
Reporting Charts: Jazz Week, CMJ Jazz, Roots Music Report Jazz
Total Running Time: 52:22
Track List (all compositions by Mariah Parker):
1. Affinity Minus One (7:40)
2. Close Passage (6:55)
3. For the Waters (6:30)
4. Torredembarra (5:36)
5. Song for Satie (4:35)
6. Sangria (6:12)
7. Jaguar Dance (5:09)
8. Milo's Moment (9:28)