The Lonesome Band Release Debut Album 'Running Alone' May 12

Article Contributed by McGuckin Enter… | Published on Thursday, April 2, 2015

Austin’s The Lonesome Band has long delivered an unforgettable, adrenaline-pumping live experience to audiences in and around the lone star state. Now the band is excited to announce its first studio project. A collection of original songs, Running Alone will be available for purchase on May 12, 2015.

Self-produced and recorded in Santa Fe’s artist-friendly Frogville Studios, Running Alone encapsulates The Lonesome Band’s distinct sound, which founding member and lead songwriter Anthony Lucio describes as “a little bit rock, a little bit funk and a whole lot of country.”

The self-dubbed Texas Cosmic Honky Tonk Country Band consists of Lucio, lead vocalist/guitarist and songwriter Sam Whips Allison, Miguel Gilly on drums, and Memphis-bred songwriter Barrett O’Donnell on bass.

Running Alone’s feature tracks include frolicking father-son advice in “Make ‘Em Dance,” while “Halfway There,” explores the juxtapositions of where life takes us – and how fast. Bringing to mind a life flashing back before quickly closing eyes, Allison sings, “When time stands still and I can feel every second pass / I’ll watch my life, like some old movie, smile and laugh.”

Other highlights include “The Lonesome Waltz,” band members’ nod to the music they grew up on, and Lucio’s “Agree to Disagree,” which bassist O’Donnell calls “a perfect introduction to what this band is all about.”

Running Alone will be featured in upcoming Texas shows:

May 8  – Rattle Snake Inn, Florence, Texas

May 22 – Rattle Inn, Austin (with Stevie Tombstone) 

May 30 – Last Concert Café, Houston