Moonalice Shares New Album Light Side of the Moonalice - An Acoustic Adventure

Article Contributed by Shore Fire Media | Published on Sunday, February 26, 2023

Bay Area collective Moonalice releases Light Side of the Moonalice - An Acoustic Adventure, via Nettwerk. Recorded in August 2022 with 4x-Grammy Award-winning engineer Dave Way (Fiona Apple, Pink, Norah Jones), the acoustic project sees Moonalice rework staples from their recent pair of EPs Full Moonalice Vol. 1 and Full Moonalice Vol. 2, including “Time Has Come Today” and “Love Peace & Happiness.” The group also shares their single “More & More,” and describes how love transforms the simple pleasures in life to the sublime. With a touch of Western swing and sweet lyrics, “More & More” is an upbeat celebration of how love grows. The album features another new original, "Arms Reach Out", by Chloe Tietjen, Erika Tietjen, and Nashville hit songwriter Dylan Altman.

Stream “More & More”:

Moonalice may be known for their electric psychedelic soul sound, but they have a long history of acoustic performances. Light Side of the Moonalice - An Acoustic Adventure was inspired by a video the band recorded for Acoustic Guitar Magazine featuring live versions of “Nick of Time” and “Woo Woo,” both of which are included on the album as new studio recordings.

“All of us in Moonalice are folkies at heart,” states Roger McNamee. “We write our songs on acoustic instruments and it was fantastic to record them that way. The early feedback from fans has been gratifying. We may have to book some acoustic concert dates!”

Moonalice has big plans for the spring, and are kicking off their return to live shows with the annual hometown 4/20 celebration at San Francisco’s The Chapel. The group will also return to Napa Valley’s BottleRock Festival and Skull & Roses Festival in Ventura, CA. Moonalice recently partnered with One Tree Planted, a nonprofit organization focused on global reforestation. Since 2014, the organization has planted over 40 million trees in more than 47 countries across the globe. For every fan that follows Moonalice on Spotify, One Tree Planted will plant one tree.

Light Side of the Moonalice - An Acoustic Adventure Tracklist

1) Love Peace & Happiness

2) Arms Reach Out

3) More & More

4) Nick of Time

5) Time has Come Today

6) Woo Woo

7) People Get Ready

8) California Dreamin…


Date      City/State/Province     Venue

4/20      San Francisco, CA      420 Gathering of the Tribe @ The Chapel

4/23      Ventura, CA           Skull & Roses Festival

5/26      Napa Valley, CA        BottleRock Festival