New album from Laura Orshaw: "Solitary Diamond"

Article Contributed by C2 Media Relations | Published on Friday, May 27, 2022

IBMA Award-winning artist Laura Orshaw releases highly anticipated new album on Dark Shadow Recording, Solitary Diamond. Produced by label head Stephen Mougin and mastered by David Glasser at AirShow Mastering, the well-rounded album showcases the wide range of her artistry — from her more vulnerable side to lively, country-infused tracks. Above all, each body of the work demonstrates her inspiring fiddle skills and captivating vocal abilities, proving she is a dynamic force to be reckoned with. The album also features other incredible female powerhouses from the genre, like Jenee Fleenor, Catherine “BB” Bowness, Bronwyn Keith-Hynes and Brittany Haas. The core band is comprised of Orshaw’s contemporaries Casey Campbell, Alan Bartram, Tony Watt, Reed Stutz, Eli Gilbert and her Po’ Ramblin’ Boys bandmate, Josh Rinkel. The guest vocalists include: Tim O’Brien, Ronnie Bowman, Trey Hensley, Alecia Nugent, Lindsay Lou, Garnet Bowman, Stephen and Jana Mougin.

Solitary Diamond is available wherever you consume music.

The first single "Hank" from the album was featured on No Depression’s Best of February playlist, and is sitting in the #14 slot on the Bluegrass Unlimited Top 30 Bluegrass Songs chart in June issue. "I Can't Settle Down" was featured on Nashville Noise. The music video "Hank" is currently at #6 slot in The Bluegrass Standard Magazine Top 15 Video Chart

Stephen Mougin shares: "Solitary Diamond exemplifies everything I love about bluegrass: compelling stories, passionate vocals, and intense picking. The band and guest vocalists all brought their own attitude to the project which, along with Laura, gives it an unexplainable edge. We had a lot of fun making this record, from selecting tunes to assembling musicians to creating arrangements, and I’m thrilled she has this platform to showcase her unique sound."

A respected powerhouse on the Bluegrass scene, Orshaw is known for infusing a bit of country into the traditional sounds of the genre. The seasoned performer has celebrated a successful career as a member of the Grammy-nominated Po’ Ramblin’ Boys and two IBMA award winners (2020 Gospel Recorded Performance of the Year, 2020 Collaborative Recording of the Year).

Ahead of the album release, Laura released three singles, “I Can’t Settle Down,” “Hank,” and “On Her Own.”

Album is available to DJs and programmers on AirPlay Direct, or by request to DSR Radio contact, Jana Mougin: [email protected]