Tab Benoit 'The Mayor of Benderville,' Returns to Big Blues Bender

Article Contributed by Doug Deutsch | Published on Sunday, August 28, 2022

"The Mayor Of Benderville," renowned Louisiana blues guitarist Tab Benoit, returns to the Big Blues Bender, at the Westgate Resort & Casino, Friday, August 25, Saturday, August 26 and Sunday, August 27. 3000 Paradise Rd. Tickets/Info:  (702) 518-3222 or log on to https://bigbluesbender.com/2022-music-schedule/ for all the great happenings at the one and only Big Blues Bender. Benoit has rightly earned the “Mayor of Benderville” nickname due to the many memorable all-night music jams he leads at the 'Bender each year featuring notable guest musicians, with Tab performing on the drums as well as guitar.

What The Press Is Saying About...Tab Benoit

"Tab Benoit has been a frequent Lincoln visitor over the three-plus decades that he’s been bringing his brand of blues out of Louisiana. Known for his distinctive guitar tone and fiery playing, he’s a powerhouse vocalist who sounds something like Otis Redding," writes the Lincoln Journal-Star.

"Benoit took the stage, and within ten minutes the rain slowed to a drizzle, then stopped completely.  Blues From The Top 1, Mother Nature 0," writes Denver Entertainment Hub's Rick Witt. "From his set opening “Why Are People Like That” to his encore “Medicine”, Benoit had the delighted crowd swinging, singing, and swaying. Benoit’s set was the perfect culmination of three fabulous days of extraordinary music at an extraordinary venue in an idyllic location".

Tab Benoit is renowned throughout his thirty-plus-year career for his passionate environmental activism. To that end, he performed two nights in his hometown of Houma, Louisiana at the 16th Annual Voice of the Wetlands Festival. He also appears prominently in the IMax motion picture Hurricane on the Bayou, a documentary of Hurricane Katrina's effects and a call to protect and restore the Wetlands, and produced a CD to help restore that state's Coastal Wetlands. Benoit was inducted into the Louisiana Folklife Center Hall of Master Folk Artists in 2020.  Benoit is one of the featured musicians in the Sony Picture Classics 2022 movie JazzFest: A New Orleans Story, Frank Marshall & Ryan Suffern’s documentary on the New Orleans Jazz & Heritage Festival.

One of the most impressive guitarists to emerge from the rich Bayous of Southern Louisiana in recent time, Tab Benoit’s guitar tone can be recognized before his Otis-Redding-ish voice resonates from the speakers. He doesn’t rely on any effects and his setup is simple. It consists of a guitar, chord, and Category 5 Amplifier. The effects that you hear come from his fingers.

Aug 25 (Thur) - Phoenix [email protected] Ballroom

Aug 26 (Fri) - Las Vegas [email protected] Blues Bender

Aug 27 (Sat) - Las Vegas [email protected] Blues Bender

Aug 28 (Sun) - Las Vegas [email protected] Blues Bender

Aug 30 (Tue) - Solana Beach [email protected] Up Tavern

Aug 31 (Wed) - Solana Beach [email protected] Up Tavern

Sept 1 (Thur) - San Juan Capistrano [email protected] Coach House

Sept 2 (Fri) - Santa Barbara [email protected] Theater

Sept 3 (Sat) - Bakersfield [email protected] Records

Sept 4 (Sun) - San Francisco [email protected] The Great American Music Hall

Sept 5 (Mon) - Felton [email protected] Music Hall

Sept 6 (Tue) - Sacramento [email protected] Tsakapolous Center For The Arts

Sept 8 (Thur) - Salem [email protected] Theater

Sept 9 (Fri) - Seattle [email protected] Hall

Sept 10 (Sat) - Spokane [email protected] Factory

Sept 11 (Sun)  - Whitefish [email protected] Remington Bar

Sept 13 (Tue) - Boise [email protected] Egyptian Theater

Sept 15 (Thur) - Rifle [email protected] Theater

Sept 16 (Fri) - Telluride [email protected] Blues & Brews Festival

Sept 17 (Sat) - Telluride [email protected] Blues & Brews Festival

Oct 6 (Wed) - Auburn [email protected] Of Auburn Amphitheater

Oct 7 (Thur) - Birmingham [email protected] City

Oct 11 (Tue) - Little Rock [email protected] Hall*

Oct 12 (Wed) - Oklahoma City [email protected] Auditorium at The Douglass*

Oct 13 (Wed) - Fort Worth [email protected]'s Tavern & Music Hall*

Oct 14 (Thur) - Houston [email protected] Outdoor Theater

Oct 16 (Sat) - Mobile [email protected] Civic Center Theater*

Nov 3 (Thur) - Kent [email protected] Kent Stage

Nov 4 (Fri) - Niagara Falls [email protected] Theater

Nov 5 (Sat) - Cahoes [email protected] Music Hall

Nov 6 (Sun) - East Greenwich [email protected] Odeum

Nov 7 (Mon) - Old Saybrook [email protected] Hepburn Cultural Arts Center

Nov 9 (Wed) - Plymouth [email protected] Center For The Performing Arts

Nov 10 (Thur) - Newton, [email protected] Newton Theater

Nov 11 (Fri) - Peterborough [email protected] Town House Concert Hall

Nov 12 (Sat) - Beverly [email protected] Theater

Nov 13 (Sun) - Plymouth [email protected] Flying Monkey

Nov 15 (Tue) - Sellersville [email protected] Sellersville Theater

Nov 16 (Wed) - Richmond [email protected] Pan

Nov 17 (Thur) - Falls Church [email protected] State Theater

Nov 18 (Fri) - Reading [email protected] Blues Festival

Nov 19 (Sat) - Mamaroneck [email protected]

Dec 1 (Thur) - Tampa [email protected] Theater*

Dec 2 (Fri) - Ft. Lauderdale [email protected] Parker

Dec 3 (Sat) - Jacksonville [email protected] Theater*

Dec. 4 (Sun) - Melbourne [email protected] Center For The Performing Arts*

Dec 6 (Tue) - Orlando [email protected] Plaza Live*

Dec 8 (Wed) - Atlanta [email protected] Playhouse

Dec 9 (Thur) - Charlotte [email protected] Theater

Dec 10 (Fri) - Knoxville [email protected] Bijou Theater

Dec 11 (Sat.) - Rocky Mount [email protected] Performance Center

Dec 13 (Mon.) - Winston Salem [email protected] Ramkat

Dec 17 (Fri) - St. Louis [email protected] Hawthorne

 

                              * With Dirty Dozen Brass Band

Topics

LATEST ARTICLES