Tennessee Jed Fisher releases New Beginnings with the Help of an All-star Bluegrass Band

Article Contributed by Golden Relations | Published on Tuesday, July 5, 2022

Tennessee Jed Fisher releases his latest album New Beginning with the help of an all-star band. Jed builds his music around his solid picking hand and fiery voice, and then adds the fireworks by adding a  multitude of Grammy and IBMA award winners/nominees in the studio.

"New Beginnings is a mostly autobiographical account of my experience with Covid, the ensuing breakup of my new marriage, and most importantly, my choice to embrace the possibilities of a fresh start amidst the chaos. I got back together with banjo phenom and co-producer Scott Vestal (formerly of Sam Bush Band, Sturgill Simpson Bluegrass Band) at his studio in the suburbs of Nashville, TN, and we put together an all-star bluegrass band for the recording. The recording itself occurred over three separate sessions, resulting in 2 singles being released over the past couple of years, both of which are included on the new album, " said Jed Fisher.
The first single, "The World That Cried Wolf," was released in early 2020, along with an accompanying stop-motion puppet music video (180K Facebook views), during the beginning stages of the pandemic. The lyrics thread the political needle, leaving interpretation to the listener while offering a scathing analysis of current society, “no matter which side you choose.” It features Grammy-nominated duo Rob Ickes (Dobro) and Trey Hensley (guitar, harmony vocal), as well as Scott Vestal (banjo), Deanie Richardson (Sister Sadie)(fiddle), and Jacob Burleson (Volume Five)(mandolin, bass) as well as Josh Shilling (Mountain Heart) on harmony vocal.

The title track of the album and second single, “New Beginnings” was released in 2021, along with an accompanying lyric video that recounts "the breakup of my marriage and the choice to start over." The second session featured a core band of Jed on guitar and vocals, Scott Vestal (banjo, synth-banjo), legendary session bassist and former member of the Del McCoury Band, Mike Bub (bass), Grammy®-nominated member of all-female bluegrass band, Sister Sadie, Deanie Richardson (fiddle), Mark Schimick of Songs From the Road Band (mandolin, harmony vocals), James Seliga of the Billy Droze Band (mandolin) and the newest member of Old Crow Medicine Show, Mason Via (harmony vocals).
The album also features the neo-traditional song, "Devereaux Run", co-written with Barney Rogers, recipient of the IBMA award for Gospel Song of the Year in 2020. It’s a moonshine-running song from the perspective of semi-mythical sheriff of Cherokee County, Devereaux Birchfield, a character from old NC folklore that Barney had wanted to write about for some time. They were going to shop it to someone more famous, but  just ended up recording it ourselves in the end. Mark Schimick’s harmony vocal gives it an authenticity Jed could’ve never hoped for when Barney and he were writing it. They plan to release it as the final single for the album in a few months.

His latest  single off the album, "House On Wheels" is an RV/Van-life love story about how he met his current partner and decided to move full-time into an RV so they could travel the country and to live like retired people before they retire.
Track Listing:

    Who We Are (Instrumental fade) (0:40)
    New Beginnings (3:24)
    House On Wheels (3:38)
    Drivin’ My Life Away (3:29)
    Bridges (4:57)
    Devereaux Run (3:48)
    Devil’s Deal (If I Were Johnny) (3:54)
    The World That Cried Wolf (5:00)
    Now That You Got Me (2:35)
    Norwegian Wood (3:35)
    Who We Are (4:20)

All songs written by John Eddins Fisher except “Drivin’ My Life Away” (Eddie Rabbitt, Even Stevens, David Malloy), “Norwegian Wood” (John Lennon, Paul McCartney) and “Devereaux Run” (John Eddins Fisher, Barney Rogers)

TENNESSEE JED FISHER – guitar, lead and harmony vocals, percussion SCOTT VESTAL – banjo, synthesizer banjo
MICHAEL BUB - upright bass
DEANIE RICHARDSON – fiddle (Tracks 2, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 10)
JASON CARTER – fiddle (Tracks 1, 3, 9, 11)
JAMES SELIGA – mandolin (Tracks 1, 3, 5, 9, 10, 11)
MARK SCHIMICK – mandolin (Tracks 2, 4, 6, 7), harmony vocals (Tracks 4, 6) MASON VIA – harmony vocals (Tracks 2, 10)
ROB ICKES – resophonic guitar (Track 8)
TREY HENSLEY – guitar and harmony vocals (Track 8)
JOSH SHILLING – harmony vocals (Track 8)
JACOB BURLESON – mandolin and bass (Track 8)

Special Thanks:

Scott Vestal, Michael Bub, Carrie Taylor, Blake Vance, Matt Grady, Julia and TJ Cellery, J Stephen Fisher, Brad Davis, Ty Gilpin, Barney Rogers, Kevin Morrow, Michael Johnson, Jim Andrews, Maureen Spence, Stephanie Mayo, Patti Chavez, Ernest Cox, Eddie Carter, Joe and Holly Brantley, all the musicians that were a part of the recording, my family and friends, and everyone who has helped support my career for all these years.