Moogfest 2016: GRIMES and MIIKE SNOW Join lineup


Submitted by -MAGNUM PR Tue, 02/09/2016 - 9:15 am

Grimes and Miike Snow will join more than 250 of the world’s most forward-thinking musicians, artists, and technologists -- from GZA, Gary Numan, and Blood Orange to virtual-reality pioneer Jaron Lanier, transhumanist visionary Dr. Martine Rothblatt, and cyborg activist Neil Harbisson – for Moogfest 2016.

Initial roster of artists and innovators that will be collaborating with Moogfest on art installations, exhibits, discussions, and workshops includes Research Triangle Park, MIT Media Lab, Google, IDEO, EYEO, Gray Area Art & Technology Center, NEW INC at The New Museum, Duke University, IBM’s DJ Watson, Burt’s Bees, and Kickstarter.

Hailed by The New York Times for “its mom-and-pop technosophy and its insistence on immersive experiences in small, comfortable spaces,” Moogfest stands out from other festivals thanks to a distinctive format where many headlining artists not only perform in the evening, but also join conversations and lead participatory workshops during the day. By putting a premium on experimentation, collaboration, multi-night residencies, and newly commissioned work, Moogfest is an incubator for world-premiere and one-time-only performances and art installations that festival-goers will not experience anywhere else.

Evening headline performances by synth-pop auteur, Grimes; avant pop trio, Miike Snow; and sets by Black Madonna, invigorating a Moogfest dance floor with her singular blend of Chicago house, techno and disco; Skepta, UK’s king of grime, bringing his much-lauded A/V show; Health and their onslaught of epic noise rock; the electro-pop savvy dance tunes of Bob Moses; Patricia with a live performance of techno produced on eurorack modular synths; Eyes Low for that home-grown, hard, and dirty brand of North Carolina dance music; and artists Morton Subotnik and Sarah Davachi join Alessandro Cortini and Suzanne Ciani in a special concert to celebrate the pioneering work of Don Buchla.

Daytime performances will include Erika Anderson, the performer known as EMA, headlining one of the Durationals (a daily series of extended performances co-presented by experimental video label Undervolt & C), while Grammy Award-nominee tAz Arnold will lead a guided music meditation at Duke University’s Nasher Museum of Art.

*Complete alphabetized list of talent below.

A growing list of participants include: Actress, ADULT., Alessandro Cortini, Afrikan Sciences, Amos Gaynes, Angus Taylor, Anna Friz, Antenes, Arthur Russell’s Instrumentals, Ben Frost, Ben Russell, Bicep, The Black Madonna, Blazer Soundsystem, Blood Orange, Bob Moses, The Body, Bootsy Collins, Christian Rich, Chuck Lightning, Daniel Bachman, Daniel Lanois, Dave Tompkins, Darwin, David Katz, Dawn of Midi, Dawn Richard, Daye Jack, Demo Taped, Dennis Bovell, Denzel Curry, DJ Harvey, DJ Lance Rock & Yo Gabba Gabba, DJ Nanny Cantaloupe, Dorit Chrysler, Earthly, EMA, Emma Coats, Empress Of, Explosions in the Sky, Eyes Low, Floating Points, Gary Numan, Gil Weinberg & Shimon, Germick Brothers, Greg Fox, Grimes, Grouper, Gwenno, GZA, Hanz, The Haxan Cloak, Health, Heathered Pearls, Hieroglyphic Being, Hundred Waters, I Speak Machine, Jaakko Eino Kalevi, Jaron Lanier, Jeff Kolar, Jlin, Jon Wiley, Julia Holter, Juliana Huxtable, Julianna Barwick, Justin Grotelueschen, Kaitlin Prest, Karen Gwyer, Kate Stone, King Mez, Kode9, Kristen Gallerneaux, Kyle Hall, Kyle McDonald, Larry Gus, Laurel Halo, Laurent “Tippy” Alfred, Laurie Anderson, Leopold Ross, Lister Hewan-Lowe, Lotic, Lunice, M. Geddes Gengras, Mac McCaughan, Mad Professor, Made of Oak, Manuel Clement, Mark Mothersbaugh, Dr. Martine Rothblatt, Miike Snow, Mike Dean, Modular on the Spot, Morton Subotnik, Moses Sumney, Mykki Blanco, Neil Harbisson, No Effects with Jesse Cohen, ODESZA, Olivia Block, Oneohtrix Point Never, Onyx Ashanti, The Orb, Patricia, Paula Temple, Professor Toon, Qrion, Quintron and Miss Pussycat, Rabit, RBTS Win, Reggie Watts, Rich Vreeland, Rick Smith, Rival Consoles, Robert Hood, Robert Rich, Ryan Germick, Ryan Hemsworth, Sam Conran, Sarah Davachi, Scott McCloud, Shallou, Shani Aviram, Sharon Mashihi, Silver Apples, Son Lux, Song Exploder with Hrishikesh Hirway, Sun Ra Arkestra, sunn O))), Susan Kare, Suzanne Ciani, Tim Hecker, Toby Heys, Tod Machover, tAz Arnold, Tory Lanez, Trandle, Tyondai Braxton, UV boi, Van Partible, Veronica Vasicka, Via App, Well$, YACHT, Zombi

*Simian Mobile Disco will no longer be performing at Moogfest 2016.

About Moogfest
Moogfest is the synthesis of music, art, and technology. Since 2004, Moogfest has brought together artists, futurist thinkers, inventors, entrepreneurs, designers, engineers, scientists, and musicians. By day, Moogfest is a platform for conversation and experimentation. This mind-expanding conference attracts creative and technology enthusiasts for three days of participatory programming in Durham, North Carolina. By night, Moogfest presents cutting-edge music in venues throughout the city. Performing artists include early pioneers in electronic music, alongside pop and avant-garde experimentalists of today.