Reviews

"adimage1"
"adimage2"

Dr. John: Locked Down | CD Review

Submitted by Ben Welp on Tue, 04/03/2012 - 1:29 pm

Despite the title “Locked Down” Dr. John’s new album was released today on Nonesuch Records.  Produced by lifelong fan and Black Keys front man Dan Auerbach, this new album travels deep into the Cajun swamp and back out again.  Such reflects the life and times of Mac Rebnnack who has been putting his unique blend of funk and blues into the music world since the 60s under the alias Dr.

GWAR | Fox Theater | Boulder, CO | Review & Photos

Submitted by Trevor Stewart… on Tue, 04/03/2012 - 1:00 pm

The transformation is complete. I now believe. All hail our extra-terrestrial overlords! The Marquee read "GWAR." It was dark when I arrived, when I took my place in the line of crust punks and metal heads stretching over fifty feet out from the box office. We who were not already inside were salivating in anticipation for the ritual blood bath to come.

Topics

Henry Rollins | Boulder Theater | March 27th, 2012 | Review

Submitted by Jonathan Regner on Thu, 03/29/2012 - 5:12 pm
This week the stage at the Boulder Theater was eclipsed by the looming shadow of a performer with a gigantic reputation, one who has been in the spotlight for over three decades.  Dressed in his signature black jeans and black tee, Henry Rollins took center stage, adopted a rocker-like stance, and firmly wielded his weapon of choice: the microphone.  Initially it was difficult hard to behold this lone veteran of guitar rock without a metal band backin
Topics

Band of Heathens | Cervantes Masterpiece Ballroom | 3/16/12

Submitted by Dave Papuga on Sat, 03/24/2012 - 8:11 am

We turned onto Welton Street, in the Five Points section of Denver, and started looking for parking for the Band of Heathens show on Friday, and saw around eight police cars posted out in front of the venue. Upon finding a spot a few blocks away, we loaded the glass, negotiated our way through a couple of bands of mooching crackheads and over to Cervantes.

Topics

Twiddle & The Heavy Pets | Fox Theater | 3/21/12 | Review

Submitted by Kelly Tasker on Thu, 03/22/2012 - 1:51 pm

On Wednesday night, the Colorado Daily and the Grateful Web presented "Twiddle" & "The Heavy Pets" at the Fox Theater. The show opened up with a seven-man reggae group, "Policulture." The band members all seemed pretty young, and the drummer was clad in a gas mask and a rasta hat.

Topics

Old Shoe & Jaik Willis Celebrate Two Brothers Brewery's 15th Anniversary

Submitted by June Reedy on Thu, 03/22/2012 - 9:00 am

Beer.  Two Brothers brews it, Old Shoe sings about it.  The sheer appearance of the sphere of beer and a brewery inhabited by beer enthusiasts inspires a severe tear that quickly disappears due to the cheer that surrounds the sound that you hear from music, sweet music.  It was the meeting of two great gears like Venus and Jupiter both visible in the night sky in the open courtyard when Two B

Umphrey's McGee | Fillmore | Denver | 3/9/12 | Review

Submitted by Tim Hurley on Wed, 03/21/2012 - 1:58 pm

What has become an annual winter pilgrimage to Denver’s Fillmore Auditorium for progressive rock stalwarts Umphrey's McGee should now be considered a must-see event for area music fans.  Judging by the variety of ages, fashions, and general enthusiasm shown by those in attendance, coupled with the fact that the performance sold out weeks in advance, it would appear that word has already gotten out.

Archived news