Reviews

"adimage1"
"adimage2"

J2G Brings it on Valentine's Day at the Love Shack!

Submitted by Philip Emma on Fri, 02/21/2014 - 10:46 am

After hearing about how much fun J2G’s previous super jam shows (The Dance Party Time Machine) turned out without being there, I was not going to miss this one. Even with Zappa Plays Zappa playing across town, I chose to take my ladies to sushi and then to the Love Shack.

Trey Anastasio Band | Fillmore | Charlotte, NC | 2/17/14 | Review

Submitted by DeadheadGrant on Fri, 02/21/2014 - 9:29 am

I've been a die hard Phish fan for years. After the New Year's show, I had high expectations for the band members' side projects this year. If you have been following Trey Anastasio this winter, you too will know he has been an incredible act and displays the most incredible musicianship and shows his raw talent no matter who he is playing with. The ability to compose masterpieces and perform them with body moving jams.

Robby Hecht | New Music Review

Submitted by Taylor Burns on Fri, 02/14/2014 - 1:01 pm

Living up to its self title, Robby Hecht’s third album is chocked full of personal sentiment that’s immediately relatable, backed up by simple-sounding, perfectly timed acoustic melodies.

Hecht’s hazy sound draws a lot of James Taylor comparisons, and rightfully so. It hit my ear like a warm blanket with tracks that feel like reuniting with an old friend who lost touch. It’s the kind of music that will make you smile at sad thoughts.

Funky Meters & Tauk | Cervantes | Denver, CO | 2/8/14 | Review

Submitted by Dylan Muhlberg on Wed, 02/12/2014 - 8:18 pm

So many legendary touring acts continue to play and perform on the fortune of their loyal fans coming to see their shows. Stalwarts of the scene know that getting on the road and playing as often as possible is the lifeblood of continuity. Year after year, summer after summer, fans travel to see Phish, Widespread Panic, whatever incarnation of the Dead, and on and on. It’s refreshing when great lesser-worshiped acts get their chance to build a fan base, especially with the support of old mainstay bands.

Damon Fowler | Sounds Of Home | Review

Submitted by John Tarricone on Sat, 02/08/2014 - 5:02 pm

Recently, I read an online article arguing the inevitable demise of rock music. The writer saw fit to place the blame upon a variety of conditions, from the public unfairly judging bands by their looks (As opposed to their music), to band classifications and whether or not they deserve to be considered “classic”, to the topic of sexism in music, stating that it should be more appealing to the “fairer sex”.

Disco Biscuits | Winter Inferno | Broomfield | 1/25/14 | Review

Submitted by Philip Emma on Thu, 02/06/2014 - 11:12 am

It has been a freezing snowy winter all across the United States this chilly season. The temperatures have been unusually cold and the snow fall has set records in several places. Many of us summer festival and tour lovers needed some refuge after our outrageous New Year’s Eve experiences. The Disco Biscuits love to play music for their adoring fan base in Colorado, just like every other band.

Mountain Sun Funky Good Time Benefit | 2/1/14 | Review & Photos

Submitted by Dylan Muhlberg on Wed, 02/05/2014 - 7:28 pm

If Colorado gets frigidly cold in January and February, with temperatures well below zero, we have great music entertainment to get close in and soak in that body heat. A now decade old tradition in Boulder is cozying up at the Boulder Theater for George Porter Jr. and Kyle Hollingsworth’s Pearl Street AllStars Jam.

Umphrey's McGee | LC Pavilion | Columbus, OH | 1/31/14 | Review

Submitted by Cassidy Maley on Wed, 02/05/2014 - 6:49 pm

ON the last day of January 2014 a great group of people gathered in the snow and ice at the LC Pavilion in Columbus, Ohio for a sold out Friday night show. Umphrey’s McGee never fails to impress and also draw an impressive crowed. The band sold out the LC Pavilion which holds almost 3,000 people at 3p.m. that day. This was a special stop on the tour as the day before the band got some heart breaking news.

Archived news