Reviews

"adimage1"
"adimage2"

Zion I | The Masters of Ceremony | New Music Review

Submitted by John Mosley on Sat, 01/18/2014 - 1:02 pm

This time ‘round for Zion-I, the duo’s MC Zumbi has a mission statement. In brief—“The sole purpose of the MC is to energize, invigorate, and guide the listener to a higher state of mind, whether that be reflection, relaxation or enlightenment.”Production behind the MC here as he goes to work on the task at hand is classic West Coast with Eastern underground dubs n’ breaks sprinkled in—think Wu-Tang meets Def Jux featuring the righteous sermons of a bizarro, born-again Mad Child preachin’ redemption.

Umphrey's McGee | Fillmore Auditorium | 12/29/2013 | Review

Submitted by Elliot Engebretson on Mon, 01/13/2014 - 2:39 pm

There’s no doubt Colorado was the place to be this past New Years, and the three-night Umphrey’s McGee run at the Fillmore Auditorium was absolutely no exception. Night two of the stand featured plenty of bust-outs, sit-ins, and surprises that had the exuberant Denver crowd grooving from start to finish.

The Motet | The Motet | New Music Review

Submitted by Charles Sokoloff on Mon, 01/13/2014 - 11:36 am

Music is a ubiquitous part of my life because it has the power to make it better. On countless occasions, it has demonstrated the ability to rejuvenate me when I’m sapped of energy and to will me out of a funk when I’m frustrated or down in the dumps. It even has the power to enliven my spirits for weeks without even yet being heard – anyone who lives for the music knows what it’s like to anticipate a show weeks, or even months, ahead of time.

Yonder Mountain String Band | Boulder, CO | 12/28/2013 | Review

Submitted by Philip Emma on Fri, 01/10/2014 - 10:43 am

It was another really cold night in Boulder after night one of an amazing five night run tradition in the band’s hometown venue, the fabulous Boulder Theater. This band has grown so much in the last decade, and they deserve all the success that they achieve. About fifteen years ago, I was searching for a band to play at my wedding.

Rog & Glenn | Martians | New Music Review

Submitted by Surewood Neustadt on Tue, 01/07/2014 - 3:22 pm
The smiles come on strong instantly with the beginning of this album entertaining the possibility of dinner with alien visitors in “The Martians”. It keeps up the pace exclaiming the obvious in “Epic Action” as the alien visitation is unfolding. There is a good sense of musicianship in the composition helping keep the interest piqued regardless of your musical preference and amidst the repetitiveness repetitiveness repetitiveness.

Yonder Mountain String Band | Boulder, CO | 12/29/2013 | Review

Submitted by Marley Lumbard on Tue, 01/07/2014 - 1:40 pm

Yonder Mountain String Band graced us again this holiday season with a five night run at Boulder Theater. Each night featured a different master musician as a guest for the entire show, and on the third night, December 29, Jerry Douglas, the dobro virtuoso, was our guest star.

Split Lip Rayfield | The Bottleneck | Lawrence, KS | NYE | Review

Submitted by Shanneil White on Sat, 01/04/2014 - 9:51 am

Rowdy, raucous, and filled to the brim.  That’s how Lawrence, KS rings in a new year.  Split Lip Rayfield killed it with a sold-out show at The Bottleneck for New Year’s Eve joined by Granny Tweed and The Sunflower Colonels.  With plenty of champagne to go around and barely any standing room, navigating this crowd was a task in and of itsel

String Cheese Incident | 1st Bank Center | 12/29/2013 | Review

Submitted by Charles Sokoloff on Fri, 01/03/2014 - 5:18 pm

The String Cheese Incident celebrated its 20th anniversary as a Boulder band during a three-day New Year’s Eve run at the 1st Bank Center. Out of all the big name jambands that got their start in the ‘80s and ‘90s, I can say with certitude that SCI has evolved the most from its incipient incarnation. On its first night, it opened with a Sgt.

Archived news