Reviews

"adimage1"
"adimage2"

Jake Shimabukuro | Grand Ukulele: Live In Boulder | Review

Submitted by Stephen Boyd on Mon, 01/20/2014 - 1:33 pm

With Jake Shimabukuro’s new release Grand Ukulele: Live In Boulder; ukuleles are not for Don Ho singing Tiny Bubbles or Tiny Tim tip toe-ing through the tulips anymore. Thank Goddess of Fire Pele! The ukulele being In the same vein as the Lower 48’s accordion as a stereotyped instrument that can’t possible grab one’s attention for long; is not only for the Big Island anymore.

Warren Haynes Christmas Jam | Asheville, NC | 2013 | Review

Submitted by Stephen Boyd on Mon, 01/20/2014 - 12:47 pm

Instead of sweating getting his wallet even fatter or having his name rolling off more folks’ tongues, Warren Haynes puts hammers, nails and efforts of kind-hearted, hard working Habitat for Humanity supporters where his guitar is to improve life for others. “Sweat Equity”, which simply means an individual needs to do for themselves and community to have the community return the favor is the driving force behind Haynes’ efforts.

Zion I | The Masters of Ceremony | New Music Review

Submitted by John Mosley on Sat, 01/18/2014 - 1:02 pm

This time ‘round for Zion-I, the duo’s MC Zumbi has a mission statement. In brief—“The sole purpose of the MC is to energize, invigorate, and guide the listener to a higher state of mind, whether that be reflection, relaxation or enlightenment.”Production behind the MC here as he goes to work on the task at hand is classic West Coast with Eastern underground dubs n’ breaks sprinkled in—think Wu-Tang meets Def Jux featuring the righteous sermons of a bizarro, born-again Mad Child preachin’ redemption.

Umphrey's McGee | Fillmore Auditorium | 12/29/2013 | Review

Submitted by Elliot Engebretson on Mon, 01/13/2014 - 2:39 pm

There’s no doubt Colorado was the place to be this past New Years, and the three-night Umphrey’s McGee run at the Fillmore Auditorium was absolutely no exception. Night two of the stand featured plenty of bust-outs, sit-ins, and surprises that had the exuberant Denver crowd grooving from start to finish.

The Motet | The Motet | New Music Review

Submitted by Charles Sokoloff on Mon, 01/13/2014 - 11:36 am

Music is a ubiquitous part of my life because it has the power to make it better. On countless occasions, it has demonstrated the ability to rejuvenate me when I’m sapped of energy and to will me out of a funk when I’m frustrated or down in the dumps. It even has the power to enliven my spirits for weeks without even yet being heard – anyone who lives for the music knows what it’s like to anticipate a show weeks, or even months, ahead of time.

Yonder Mountain String Band | Boulder, CO | 12/28/2013 | Review

Submitted by Philip Emma on Fri, 01/10/2014 - 10:43 am

It was another really cold night in Boulder after night one of an amazing five night run tradition in the band’s hometown venue, the fabulous Boulder Theater. This band has grown so much in the last decade, and they deserve all the success that they achieve. About fifteen years ago, I was searching for a band to play at my wedding.

Rog & Glenn | Martians | New Music Review

Submitted by Surewood Neustadt on Tue, 01/07/2014 - 3:22 pm
The smiles come on strong instantly with the beginning of this album entertaining the possibility of dinner with alien visitors in “The Martians”. It keeps up the pace exclaiming the obvious in “Epic Action” as the alien visitation is unfolding. There is a good sense of musicianship in the composition helping keep the interest piqued regardless of your musical preference and amidst the repetitiveness repetitiveness repetitiveness.

Yonder Mountain String Band | Boulder, CO | 12/29/2013 | Review

Submitted by Marley Lumbard on Tue, 01/07/2014 - 1:40 pm

Yonder Mountain String Band graced us again this holiday season with a five night run at Boulder Theater. Each night featured a different master musician as a guest for the entire show, and on the third night, December 29, Jerry Douglas, the dobro virtuoso, was our guest star.

Archived news