Reviews

"adimage1"
"adimage2"

BoomBox | Lost Ya | Review

Submitted by Elliot Engebretson on Mon, 01/14/2013 - 4:08 pm

Coming to a dance floor near you, an infectious new track by the electro-rock duo BoomBox, who is set to release their new album in the upcoming year. BoomBox is made up of producer/DJ Russ Randolph and singer/songwriter/guitarist Zion Godchaux, who have established themselves as one of the premier late-night acts in the festival circuit.

Dog Society | Emerge | Review

Submitted by Mindy McCall on Thu, 01/10/2013 - 3:21 pm

From New York comes a4 member Rock band known as “Dog Society” who just released his latest effort Emerge (2012). Dog Society is strongly established in that region and this latest release is a collection of 12 amazing songs. Dog Society are:   Band members include Bruce Erik Brauer (guitar), Guerzon (Bass) and Joe Ranieri (Drums + Percussion) and last but certainly not least  Brian Schnaak (vocals).

The Mantras/Yo Mama's Big Fat Booty Band | New Years | Review

Submitted by Stephen Boyd on Wed, 01/09/2013 - 7:20 pm

On December 31, 2012, The Mantras along with Yo Mama's Big Fat Booty Band, rang in 2013 in fine fashion at Greensboro, North Carolina's Blind Tiger.  On this leg of the tour, the Mantras and Yo Mama’s Big Fat Booty Band are alternating the headlining role from night to night.

FIDLAR | 'FIDLAR' | New Music Review

Submitted by Ryan Cavanaugh on Tue, 01/08/2013 - 5:16 pm

These SoCal miscreants came shredding down the alleys of the LA punk scene in 2009, and have recently been LA-reppin’ with the likes of Pitchfork and SPIN Magazine. FIDLAR consists of Zac Carper, Brandon Schwartzel, and brothers, Elvis and Max Kuehn, and the boys are set to release their eponymous record on Mom & Pop/Wichita recordings January 22nd. This highly anticipated release is fresh on the heels of a year spent touring with the Hives, Delta Spirit, and JEFF the Brotherhood.

Phish | Madison Square Garden | New York |12/30/2012 | Review

Submitted by Elliot Engebretson on Mon, 01/07/2013 - 11:00 am

“Never miss a Sunday show.” This has long been word of the wise from many Phish fans when it comes to experiencing a run of shows. On top of that, the date 12/30 has always been a legendary night for the band. Walking into Madison Square Garden that Sunday night I expected to hear an entertaining show and hoped for some longer extended jams. After all, the opening two nights had overall solid set lists, but there was definitely room for more experimental jamming and improvisation.

The Motet | Fox Theater | Boulder, CO | 12/31/12 | Review

Submitted by Charles Sokoloff on Sun, 01/06/2013 - 4:00 am

The first time it happened, in December of 2001, I was in a room roughly the size of The Fox Theatre in Boulder. I stood ten feet from the edge of the stage while my girlfriend and her sorority sister shared a stale rum ‘n’ coke beneath the east wall jungle mural. Ekoostik Hookah, an Ohio-based jamband, launched into the eurhythmic, tom-driven section of their epic piece, Ecstasy.

Lotus | Rams Head Live | Baltimore, MD | 12/30/2012 | Review

Submitted by Faye Peck on Sun, 01/06/2013 - 3:15 am

Three years ago, my grandma was diagnosed with cancer, fighting through the chemo with a smile on her face and light in her heart. Through her, the story and the power of the Lotus flower began to show itself to me. Deep beneath the dark, the Lotus begins its struggle.  Beckoning towards the surface of the glassy pond, Lotus does not stop until the sunshine meets her.

From The Perspective Of The Couch Phish | New Years Run | NYC

Submitted by John Tarricone on Sat, 01/05/2013 - 5:20 am

It's the age old debate (Or at least one that’s been fretted over for about the last 10 years or so): “Couch Touring” Vs. the “In Person” experience.

I have been privy to those who claim couch touring is not a valid way to see a performance; In fact, I’ve heard people say that those who have streamed shows in the comfort of their homes can’t really count that as officially “seeing the shows”. In other words, if I’d been to 30 shows, but 15 were on couch tour, I’ve technically only seen 15 shows.

Elephant Revival | Aggie Theater | 12/31/2012 | Review

Submitted by Matt Cook on Fri, 01/04/2013 - 4:38 pm

New Year’s Eve can be celebrated in many different ways. Some people choose to be close with their loved ones, others want to find to wildest party, or for some it’s just another day. Music lovers across the land can undoubtedly agree that New Years Eve means good music with large array of shows to choose from. I particularly like the themes of these nights; reflection, celebration and renewal. I find people are always more positive on New Year’s Eve than other holidays. First, obviously there’s always a party.

Archived news