Altin Gün share “Su Siziyor," new album out this Friday on ATO Records

Article Contributed by Big Hassle Media | Published on Wednesday, March 29, 2023

GRAMMY® Award-nominated Turkish psych-folk innovators Altın Gün have shared their grooving new single, “Su Siziyor,” available now at all DSPs and streaming services. The track heralds the impending release of Altın Gün’s eagerly anticipated new album, Aşk, arriving via ATO Records this Friday, March 31.

The album has already been met with significant international praise ahead of its release. MOJO was one of the first to weigh in with a four-star review in their new issue. Exclaim! said that Aşk “captures a band more comfortable roasting in the sweaty, late-night heat of their notoriously fiery concerts, and is imbued with that invigorating immediacy,” while PopMatters praised the band for the way their music “plays up the psychedelic aspects of the Anatolian scene with ecstatic relish.”



Rooted in antiquity yet blazing with contemporary relevance and vitality, Aşk includes such recently released tracks as the pulse-pounding “Rakıya Su Katamam” and the deeply atmospheric “Güzelligin On Para Etmez,” both of which are available now at all DSPs and streaming services.

An exuberant return to the 70s Anatolian folk-rock sound that characterized Altın Gün’s landmark first two albums, Aşk sees Altın Gün veering away from the electronic, synth-drenched sound of their critically acclaimed 2021 albums, Âlem and Yol, to capture all the infectious power and urgency of the Amsterdam-based band’s famously propulsive live performances. Recorded using vintage equipment and techniques, the album’s ten groundbreaking tracks all represent visionary new readings of traditional Turkish folk tunes, revealing how these ancient songs remain eternally resonant and ripe for reinterpretation.




Aşk also includes Altın Gün’s dazzling reinvention of “Leylim Ley,” a classic song of lost love and exile available now at all DSPs and streaming services. Recently named as “Today’s Top Tune” by the influential KCRW, “Lelim Ley” features music composed by renowned Turkish musician, author, poet, and politician Zülfü Livaneli and lyrics written by the late Turkish novelist, short-story writer, poet, and journalist Sabahattin Ali (1907–1948). Taken from Ali’s 1937 short story, “Ses,” “Lelim Ley” was joined by music composed by Livaneli in 1975 and has since been embraced as one of the most well-known and beloved songs among Turkish people everywhere.

“These songs have been covered so many times, always,” says vocalist/keyboardist Merve Dasdemir.

“But not really in psychedelic pop versions,” adds bassist Jasper Verhulst. “It’s definitely connecting more with a live sound – almost like a live album. We, as a band, just going into a rehearsal space together and creating music together instead of demoing at home.”


Renowned for their dizzyingly hypnotic live performances, Altın Gün will embark on a wide ranging EU/UK headline run in March 2023, with their biggest North American headline tour to date – including headline shows and appearances at such upcoming festivals as Floyd, VA’s FloydFest (July 27) – getting underway July 12 at Pittsburgh, PA’s Thunderbird and then traveling through early August. Complete details and ticket information is available now HERE.




12 – Pittsburgh, PA – Thunderbird

13 – Cleveland, OH – Beachland Ballroom

14 – Detroit, MI – Magic Stick

15 – Chicago, IL – Thalia Hall

17 – Milwaukee, WI – Turner Hall

18 – Minneapolis, MN – Varsity Theatre

19 – Des Moines, IA – Wooly’s

21 – Indianapolis, IN – The Vogue

24 – Nashville, TN – Basement East

25 – Atlanta, GA – Terminal West

27 – Floyd, VA – FloydFest *

28 – Washington, DC – The Howard

29 – Philadelphia, PA – Union Transfer

31 – Brooklyn, NY –  Brooklyn Steel


2 – Toronto, ON – Danforth Music Hall

3 - Ottawa, ON - The Bronson Center

4 - Montreal, QC - Osheaga Festival *

5 - Boston, MA - Royale

* Festival Appearance

Hailing from Amsterdam but coming from various backgrounds (Turkish, Indonesian, Dutch), Altın Gün have captured the world’s imagination with their indelible fusion of psychedelic rock, deep funk, synthpop, cosmic reggae, and more with the rich and incredibly diverse traditions of Anatolian and Turkish folk music. The band captured the world’s attention with their 2018 debut, On, and quickly earned a prestigious GRAMMY® Award nomination for “Best World Album” with their 2019 sophomore LP, Gece.

Altın Gün has spent much of this past year lighting up stages around the world, including sold out headline tours in North America, Europe, and the UK, along with show-stopping sets at such top international festivals as Indio, CA’s Coachella Valley Music and Arts Festival, the Netherlands’ Best Kept Secret, Barcelona, Spain’s Primavera Sound, and Reykjavik, Iceland’s Iceland Airwaves to name but a few.

Altın Gün is: Merve Dasdemir (vocals and keyboards), Erdinc Ecevit (vocals and keyboards), Thijs Elzinga (guitar), Jasper Verhulst (bass), Daniel Smienk (drums), Chris Bruining (percussion).



(ATO Records)

Release Date: Friday, March 31


Badi Sabah Olmadan

Su Sızıyor

Dere Geliyor

Leylim Ley

Çıt Çıt ÇedeneYou

Rakıya Su Katamam

Doktor Civanım

Canım Oy

Kalk Gidelim

Güzelliğin On Para Etmezr