Bluegrass Supergroup Mighty Poplar Grab a GRAMMY Nomination for 2023 Free Dirt Debut Album

Article Contributed by HearthMusic | Published on Friday, November 10, 2023

Bluegrass supergroup Mighty Poplar has clinched the nomination for Best Bluegrass Album from the 2023 GRAMMY Awards! Featuring Andrew Marlin of Watchhouse, Chris "Critter" Eldridge and Noam Pikelny of Punch Brothers, Greg Garrison of Leftover Salmon, and Alex Hargreaves of Billy Strings' band, this powerhouse of pickers wowed audience with a boldly innovative and passionately curious debut album. Drawn together at informal jams at bluegrass festivals, each member of Mighty Poplar gloried in the pure joy of creation and improvisation that's at the heart of true bluegrass.

"It's an honor to receive this recognition in the bluegrass category," says Jonathan Een Newton of Free Dirt Records. "Mighty Poplar began as a passion project between friends who grew up with previous supergroups like the Bluegrass Album Band. The stripped down, straight ahead feel of their debut record has clearly resonated with folks. I'm so proud of the team we put together to shepherd this release into the world." Free Dirt Records has previously received GRAMMY nominations for Che Apalache ("Best Folk Album" nomination in 2020) and Julian Lage & Chris Eldridge ("Best Contemporary Instrumental Album" in 2018).