Brooks & Bowskill release "TOO MANY ROADS"

Article Contributed by gratefulweb | Published on Friday, January 20, 2023

Brooks & Bowskill is the partnership of Brittany Brooks and Jimmy Bowskill (Blue Rodeo, The Sheepdogs). Their music journeys between the old and the new, weaving sounds of 60s folk rock, 70s country twang and contemporary Americana into a genre that is completely their own. They have quickly become known for their harmony singing, crafted songwriting and production style that is at once lush and feather lite. This is the story of two old souls coming together through music and each bringing a wealth of unique experiences to the partnership that seems beyond its years.

"Too Many Roads" is their impressive and stunning full length 12 song debut, showcasing the undeniable chemistry and talent of this exciting new collaboration. The couple wrote the songs together and to each other, reflecting on the cosmic fate of their new found love and the roads they traveled to get there. Brooks' velvety croon is of another time and Bowskill’s instrumentation is masterful in this genre-bending debut.

The debut LP boasts impeccable production - at times large and lush with grandiose string sections, drum machines, pianos and other times more intimate with heart aching two-part harmonies that effortlessly float along finger-picked guitar. All the more impressive is that Bowskill recorded all 12 songs at his studio Ganaraska Recording Co. and engineered the majority of this album in addition to performing a plethora of the instruments, proving his talents as a multi-instrumentalist and producer. The songwriting is crafted and teaming with sincerity, sophistication and purity of sound.

The album begins with an intimate candlelit ballad “Little Gem” where the couple’s vocals melt like butter over the warmest acoustic guitar, rhythmic bongo and swaying cellos. We then dive into the title track “Too Many Roads” an instant folk-rock anthem with a nostalgic 1960’s charm. Songs like “Don’t Leave Me Now” “Pickin’ Party” and “Lonely Club” are a master-class in classic country music but have a distinctive Brooks & Bowskill sound with mandolin, pedal steel guitar and immaculate (at times even wild) guitar picking. Both Brooks & Bowskill's skills as lyricists shine bright on the epic “Golden Prime” and “Tired of the Talk” which was co-written with Greg Keelor (Blue Rodeo). An overall theme of new found love and yearning is present throughout the album and this rings true in “Distant Cowgirl” and “Plane from Saskatoon.” Brooks & Bowskill is a love story in its first chapter and "Too Many Roads" is just the beginning.

"Too Many Roads" Track Listing:
1. Little Gem (02:38)
2. Too Many Roads (03:13)
3. Don't Leave Me Now (03:40)
4. Distant Cowgirl (03:41)
5. Tired of The Talk (Co-Written with Greg Keelor) (04:07)
6. Lonely Club (03:26)
7. Pickin' Party (03:09)
8. Golden Prime (04:19)
9. Never See My Gal (03:49)
10. Heart Breaker (03:08)
11. Plane From Saskatoon (04:04)
12. The Morning Song (02:57)