The Crystal Casino Band New Album Maryland House Out Now

Article Contributed by Press Here Publicity | Published on Friday, January 27, 2023

Today, rising Washington, DC-based indie rock quartet The Crystal Casino Band, who have amassed over 10 million streams on Spotify, has released their independent new studio album, Maryland House. PRESS HERE to listen. The 13-song collection, the band’s sixth overall full-length album, features their previously released singles “City That Sleeps,” “Twenty-something Socialist,” “Jamie,” “Boys & Girls,” “Until The Sun Comes Up” and “Antlers.”
“We are unbelievably excited for you to hear Maryland House,” shares the band. “This is by far our most collaborative album to date and working on these songs for the past two years together has been beyond rewarding. We hope you hear the love and effort we put into the record and that we can see you at our headlining show at the 9:30 Club. Remember, TCCB LOVES YA!”
The Crystal Casino Band – Pete Stevens (guitar, vocals), Joey Mamlin (drums), Jarrod Hendricks (guitar), Jordan Mullaney (bass) – will officially celebrate the release of Maryland House on Thursday, February 9th with a headlining show at the 9:30 Club in their home city of Washington, DC. TCCB will also head to Columbus and Chicago in May for more headlining gigs; see below for dates. Tickets for all upcoming shows are on sale now; visit for more info.
Maryland House, The Crystal Casino Band’s most complex and varietal album to date, is a winding journey with unexpected turns that showcases their love for the DMV (DC/Maryland/Virginia) area and pays homage to their lives as young adults. The new album, produced by Kyle Downes and Jay Nemeyer (Color Palette), is unlike anything the four-piece has done before as it marks the first TCCB record featuring each member on lead vocals as well as a variety of instruments including trumpet, ukulele, mandolin, and harmonica.
Kicking off with “Curfew,” Maryland House, named for the band’s favorite rest stop along I-95, opens with the perspective of someone in the DC area detailing the events at The Capitol on January 6, 2021. From there, “Twenty-something Socialist,” a mainstay in the band’s live shows, raises the energy as Stevens sings about the jaded young progressives of America trying to make it in the world while billionaires use their wealth for expensive vanity projects. The grit of “Socialist” continues on “Jamie" discussing the actions of a flaky friend who never follows through on what they say they’re going to do. On latest single “City That Sleeps,” Hendricks sings about the transient nature of the people who call Washington, DC their home and its effect on their relationships with those they are close with romantically. Elsewhere on Maryland House, Mullaney decries the injustices of the two Johnson administrations (both Andrew and Lyndon) and inwardly questions how much has changed with our nation’s discontents on “Half Staff,” while Mamlin channels his inner Ringo Starr for the album’s final track, “Getting Closer,” and reminds the listener to never be too hard on themselves and not forget their inner child. Full track listing for Maryland House below.
Formed in 2015 as a group of friends at the George Washington University, The Crystal Casino Band, originally named The Colonies, began their sonic journey heavily influenced by the likes of The Strokes and The Black Keys. Over the course of their college years and a few lineup changes, the band’s sound transformed to combine their initial influences with the vibes of early 2010s-era indie that littered Tumblr dashboards and increasingly introspective and socially-conscious lyrics. With this turn to introspection and social awareness, the independent quartet grew uncomfortable with their original name’s imperialist connotations and changed it to their current one in 2020. Since the release of their 2021 album, Not About You, TCCB continues to evolve as artistically showcased on their new album, Maryland House.

Maryland House Track Listing
1.    Curfew
2.    Twenty-something socialist
3.    Jamie
4.    Sorry Not Worried
5.    Boys & Girls
6.    Until The Sun Comes Up
7.    Talking Stage ft Divine Sweater
8.    City That Sleeps
9.    Wealth and Riches
10.  Half Staff
11.  Antlers
12.  Quarter Life
13.  Getting Closer
Thursday, February 9 – Washington, DC @ 9:30 Club
Friday, May 5 – Columbus, OH @ The Basement
Saturday, May 6 – Chicago, IL @ Schubas