Danny Elfman's Official Soundtrack for White Noise Released

Article Contributed by BB Gun Press | Published on Sunday, November 20, 2022

Danny Elfman’s official soundtrack for the highly anticipated forthcoming film White Noise has been released. Featuring 21 tracks, Elfman’s score serves as an ambitious and eccentric musical compliment to Academy Award-nominated writer-director Noah Baumbach’s latest project. Boasting an all-star ensemble headlined by Adam Driver, Greta Gerwig and Don Cheadle, White Noise will be released in select theaters on November 25th before making its official streaming debut on Netflix on December 30th.

The release of the soundtrack is led by this week’s debut of “Duel Lecture,” the first taste of Elfman’s music from the film. See below for complete track-listing details and listen to the score in its entirety HERE.

At once hilarious and horrifying, lyrical and absurd, ordinary and apocalyptic, White Noise dramatizes a contemporary American family's attempts to deal with the mundane conflicts of everyday life while grappling with the universal mysteries of love, death, and the possibility of happiness in an uncertain world. Adapted for the screen by Baumbach, the film is based on the 1985 National Book Award-winning novel by Don DeLillo. For more information on the film, visit HERE.

“Composing for White Noise was really exciting because there’s no singular genre for this film, which meant no predetermined musical direction, no indication of what the music should be. The possibilities were endless,” says Elfman. “Nothing is more fun to me than being able to try different things and experiment. And working with Noah so closely was incredible in itself. He is so creative and was an active collaborator throughout the entire project. This was definitely one of my most enjoyable scoring experiences.”


    Waves and Radiation
    Me First
    Duel Lecture
    Airborne Toxic Event
    Toxic Chemicals
    Chew Gum or Smoke
    We’re Late
    Highway Disaster
    Up There
    Teddy Bear
    Terribly Sad Moment
    Bad Dream
    Lost In The Kitchen
    Finding Mink
    You Shot You
    Wrap Up
    Nebulous Mass
    The Cloud Is Coming

The release of Elfman’s White Noise score arrives today alongside the debut of the digital deluxe edition of his album Bigger. Messier; a new collection of songs that reimagine music from his 2021 LP Big Mess. Led by a never-before-released remix of his song “Sorry” by Ghostemane, the project features 5 additional remixes that have only ever been heard as part of the limited-run Big Mess box set, adding to a genre-defying album of collaborations and reinterpretations by the likes of Trent Reznor, Iggy Pop and more. Listen to the project HERE.