Denver Neo-Soul/RnB Supergroup Midnight.Blue Poised To “Breathe” New Life Into Neo-Soul

Article Contributed by Greg Knight | Published on Thursday, August 18, 2022

Smooth, groove-driven Neo-Soul defines “Breathe” - the new album from Denver-based band Midnight.Blue. The project, released today, has a fresh and familiar sound, with a mix of funk, R&B, and hip-hop. influences. The collective of impressive touring musicians who make up the band - Lyle Divinsky (vocals - formerly of The Motet), Eric Benny Bloom (trumpet - Lettuce), Josh Fairman - (bass - Sunsquabi), Adam Deitch (drums - Lettuce), Ian Gilley (keys - Recess), Jake Jay.Greens Leventhal (guitar - Perception Records), Halle Tomlinson (vocals - The Voice), and G. Finesse (vocals - Black Eagle Society) - all excel on their respective instruments, uniting to present a cohesive work that is undeniably catchy.  

Breathe features ten tracks that range from slow jams crafted for a chill Sunday afternoon, and uptempo grooves that are dance-floor ready. Despite the absolute star power in the band’s lineup, each artist’s musicality shines through. Previously released single “20/20” is driven by complex bars from G. Finesse, while soulful vocals from Halle Tomlinson shine brightly on “Illumination.” Drummer Adam Deitch experimented with songwriting, piecing together the classic RnB groove “Show You How” with Lyle Divinsky.

Produced by Jay.Greens and Josh Fairman, Breathe is the first official release from the newly formed label, Perception Records. The label is eyeing expansion in the latter half of 2022, with plans to release music from some of the best and brightest musicians in the jam world. Perception Records will celebrate the release of Breathe with Midnight.Blue’s inaugural performance - a headlining set at The Bluebird in Denver on 9/1.

Breathe is now available on all streaming platforms.