Dhani Harrison Releases “Damn That Frequency (East Star All-Stars Remix)”

Article Contributed by Big Hassle Media | Published on Friday, April 5, 2024

Dhani Harrison today shares “Damn That Frequency (Easy Star All-Stars Remix),” a reimagining of the lead track from his second solo album, INNERSTANDING. The new version sees the song remixed by the acclaimed reggae collective Easy Star All-Stars who add a reggae and dub elements to Harrison’s song. Both the album version and remix release feature the legendary guitarist from the band Blur, Graham Coxon, on saxophone.

Easy Star All-Stars is the brainchild of producer/songwriter/musician Michael Goldwasser. Working as a revolving collective of musicians and vocalists, they have established themselves as one of the top international reggae acts on the scene for over two decades. During this time, they’ve toured in over 30 countries on 6 continents, bringing together fans of reggae, classic rock, dub, and indie rock into one big family. Michael's productions of the group’s reggae reimaginings of classic albums include Dub Side of the Moon (2003), Radiodread (2006), Easy Star’s Lonely Hearts Dub Band (2009), Easy Star’s Thrillah (2012), and Ziggy Stardub (2023), and two original collections, Until That Day (2008) and First Light (2011).

INNERSTANDING was produced by Harrison and co-mixed with GRAMMY® Award-winning producer Paul Hicks (The Beatles, Joe Strummer, The Rolling Stones). Besides “Frequency,” Coxon is featured on his regular instrument, guitar on several tracks on the album. Also making appearances are Liela Moss of The Duke Spirit and the critically acclaimed Australian singer Mereki.


“Innerstanding finds Harrison marking out his own territory, sustaining a brooding musical atmosphere and filling it with sterling melodies” – MOJO

“...shafts of bright light breaking through the mossy overgrowth of programmed beats, fuzzed out bass and Harrison’s righteously paranoiac lyrics of a planet and its populace on the brink” – Paste

“Harrison has definitely created a masterpiece with this album. Innerstanding is brilliant, from the stark front sleeve to the sounds found on the record.” – Spill


Originally stepping onto the global stage with his band thenewno2, Dhani Harrison first earned critical acclaim for his innovative sound and approach with performances at Coachella, Lollapalooza, and on multiple late night TV shows. However, it was as solo artist that Harrison truly demonstrated his creative autonomy. 2017’s IN///PARALLEL served as a testament to his evolution as a musician, weaving intricate melodies and a subject matter that forewarned much of what the world has experienced in the years following its release Rolling Stone hailed IN///PARALLEL writing that it was “psychedelia-tinged journey into modern-day disconnect.”

Harrison is also known for scoring film and TV projects as well as collaborating with an array of diverse artists including Wu-Tang Clan, UNKLE, John McLaughlin, Annie Lennox, Pearl Jam, Nitin Sawhney, Perry Farrell, Prince, Regina Spektor, and Fistful of Mercy (alongside Ben Harper & Joseph Arthur). Since his 2013 debut as a composer on Richard La Gravenese’s Beautiful Creatures, Harrison has gone on to score the Sundance Award- winning MATANGI/MAYA/M.I.A., for which he and his scoring partner Paul Hicks received an International Documentary Association (IDA) Award nomination for “Best Music Score Award.” Additional scores include R.Z.A.’s CutThroat City, Obey Giant – The Story of Shepard Fairey, Amazon’s original series Good Girls Revolt, Showtime’s White Famous, and the much-lauded HBO docuseries, The Case Against Adnan Syed.

As an artist who defies categorization, Harrison continues to explore the boundaries of music and creativity. His ability to seamlessly blend diverse influences while maintaining his individuality has solidified his place as a contemporary musical visionary. With each new composition, performance, and collaboration, Dhani Harrison invites us to join him on a sonic journey that knows no limits.