Georgia Thunderbolts Release Debut Full-Length Album

Article Contributed by | Published on Friday, October 15, 2021

Following a whirlwind year that saw them tour the US and earn accolades from outlets as diverse as Rolling Stone, American Songwriter, Loudwire, and Wide Open Country, The Georgia Thunderbolts have finally released their debut full-length album, ‘Can We Get A Witness,’ out today via Mascot Records/Mascot Label Group. “We put a lot of heart and soul into this album,” the band said. “It’s all about releasing a raw rock n’ roll record that everyone around the world can relate to. We're hoping it brings a smile to everyone’s face as big as our home state of Georgia, and makes you wanna get up and have a footstomping good time, with The Georgia Thunderbolts!”
Listen to the album’s final single, a fiery interpretation of The Allman Brothers Band’s “Midnight Rider,” which has been staple of the band’s live set alongside Black Stone Cherry this fall.

Ushering in a new generation of classic southern rock steeped in soul and the blues, The Georgia Thunderbolts have been called “timeless” by American Songwriter, “your new favorite southern rock band” by Classic Rock, and proof that “southern rock continues to thrive in the 21st century” by Rolling Stone. “We’re going for that timeless and classic sound with a modern twist and newer attitude,” exclaims TJ. “We all grew up on rock music,” guitarist Riley Couzzourt adds. “If I could think of three words to describe us, they would be ‘Hardworking, Determined, and Humble.’” Drummer Bristol Perry grins, “If I could think of three words, they would be ‘Rock And Roll.’”
Whether it be on the banks of the Mississippi River or deep in the heart of the English countryside, rock ‘n’ roll lives, breathes, and burns on the outskirts. Hailing from Rome, GA at the foothills of the Appalachian Mountains, The Georgia Thunderbolts’ debut album features their scorching signature style steeped in soulful southern swagger, blistering blues, and raw rock. With a wide swath of inspirations, ranging from southern gospel and Hank Williams to Merle Haggard, Neil Young, Little Feat, Ozzy Osbourne, and Lynyrd Skynyrd, the band cut their teeth performing with everyone from The Allman Betts Band, and Blackberry Smoke to Kentucky Headhunters & Black Stone Cherry. Shortly after, they hit the iconic Barrick Recording Studio in Glasgow, KY to record with producer Richard Young.

The resulting album comprises thirteen undeniable anthems steeped in anthemic riffs, wild harmonica, and pulse-pounding drums. From the bluesy blend of “So You Wanna Change The World,” to “the first song we ever wrote,” the dynamic “Looking For An Old Friend,” The Georgia Thunderbolts rustle up a new era of rock ‘n’ roll, informed by their history in Rome, a town with a deep agricultural history. So when they sing, "Spirit of A Workin' Man," you better believe they mean it. "It's got a deep lesson to it. You can't knock down the little man," TJ says.
There's a message to what we're doing," Bristol says. "It's okay to be yourself. If you're going through hard times, the music will always be there. We'd love to remind everyone of that.” “Rock and roll is something that comes naturally for us,” Riley, Zach and Logan conclude. “We love it and are in it for the long haul. We feel like we can bring it back.”
‘Can We Get A Witness’ by The Georgia Thunderbolts
1. Take It Slow
2. Lend A Hand
3. So You Wanna Change The World
4. Looking For An Old Friend
5. Spirit Of A Workin’ Man
6. Midnight Rider
7. Be Good To Yourself
8. Half Glass Woman
9. Dancin’ With The Devil
10. Can I Get A Witness
11. Walk Tall Man
12. It’s Alright
13. Set Me Free
14. Better Run From The Beast (Vinyl Bonus Track)