Henhouse Prowlers release new album "Lead and Iron"

Article Contributed by Dark Shadow Re… | Published on Saturday, September 16, 2023

Chicago based band Henhouse Prowlers release their long awaited album Lead and Iron with a special performance at the legendary Station Inn, Nashville.

Producer Stephen Mougin says: “Lead and Iron is the next step on a long adventure that is the Henhouse Prowlers. I truly enjoyed the entire album process with these guys, from preproduction song selection and arranging, to tracking. They were a joy to work with and have a clear vision for their trajectory as a group. Always eager to try new musical approaches and dig farther into their musicality, this record puts their talents on full display. I’m proud of Lead and Iron and I think folks are going to be listening to this album for years to come.”

Lead and Iron features eleven original songs from band members, with all four as featured lead vocalists. DSR label-mates Becky Buller and Laura Orshaw guest on twin fiddles for track five.

Henhouse Prowlers are Ben Wright  (banjo,cello banjo, vocals), Jon Goldfine (bass, vocals), Jake Howard (mandolin, octave mandolin, vocals) and Chris Dollar (guitar, vocals).

Track Listing:

1. Home For (2:50)

Chis Dollar  (Acoustic Currency, ASCAP)

2. Lead and Iron (4:00)

Jake Howard (World’s Worst, ASCAP)

3. My Last Run (3:28)

Chris Dollar (Acoustic Currency, ASCAP)

4. Wobbly Dog (3:18)

Jake Howard (World’s Worst, ASCAP)

5. Subscription To Loneliness (3:58)

Jon Goldfine, Rick Lang (Henhouse Publishing, ASCAP;  Haley Anna Music, BMI)

6. Passenger Train Boogie (4:36)

Chris Dollar (Acoustic Currency, ASCAP)

7. Forgotten Gravestones (3:55)

Ben Wright (Henhouse Publishing, ASCAP)

8. Rolling Wheels (3:26)

Chris Dollar (Acoustic Currency, ASCAP)

9. Died Before Their Time (2:58)

Jon Goldfine, Ben Wright, Jake Howard, Chris Dollar, Stephen Mougin (Henhouse Publishing, ASCAP; World’s Worst, ASCAP; Acoustic Currency, ASCAP; Timberdoodle Tunes, ASCAP)

10. The Show (3:04)

Chris Dollar (Acoustic Currency, ASCAP)

11. My Little Flower (2:35)

Jake Howard (World’s Worst, ASCAP)