Joanne Shaw Taylor & Kevin Shirley Reunite w/ New Studio Album, 'Heavy Soul'

Article Contributed by | Published on Friday, February 16, 2024

Joanne Shaw Taylor, the chart-topping British blues-rock guitarist, is set to enchant the music world with her latest studio album, Heavy Soul, produced by Kevin Shirley (Black Crowes, Journey, Aerosmith). Heavy Soul is set to release on June 7th through Joe Bonamassa’s Journeyman Records. In anticipation, she unveils her poignant new single, "Heavy Soul," a compelling track that explores the weight of emotional burdens with profound depth. The single is now available for streaming - listen HERE.

Joanne Shaw Taylor, recognized for her exceptional guitar skills and powerful songwriting, continues her ascent in the music world with this new release. Her journey, which began at the age of 16 when discovered by Dave Stewart of the Eurythmics, has seen her garner accolades from music icons like Stevie Wonder and Annie Lennox. Following the success of albums like Reckless Heart, The Blues Album, and Nobody's Fool, Joanne's Heavy Soul is poised to be another landmark in her illustrious career.

Heavy Soul emerges from Joanne's creative vision of bridging the gap between her previous album Nobody's Fool and her blues origins. The album promises a fusion of contemporary soul-pop with traditional blues roots. The album features an array of accomplished musicians, including Anton Fig, Alison Presswood, and Rob McNelley blending their unique talents to create an unforgettable musical experience. Reflecting on the creation of Heavy Soul, Joanne shares, "For me, it was about connecting the dots from 'Nobody's Fool' back into the blues... It's a mix of contemporary soul-pop and roots music.”

"Heavy Soul," the title track, resonates with Joanne's emotive vocals and rich guitar riffs. The single showcases her skill in blending traditional blues with dynamic rhythms and melodies.

Fans can also look forward to Joanne's Spring U.S. 2024 Tour, where she will treat audiences to her latest hits and classic anthems. The tour, spanning across the East Coast and Southeast, starts in Virginia Beach, VA, on March 29th, and concludes in Skokie, IL, on May 3rd. For more information on the album, single, and tour dates, visit

CD Track Listing
1. Sweet ‘Lil Lies
2. All The Way From America
3. Black Magic
4. Drowning In A Sea Of Love
5. A Good Goodbye
6. Heavy Soul
7. Wild Love
8. Someone Like You
9. Devil In Me
10. Change Of Heart

Friday, March 29 - Virginia Beach, VA – The Sandler Center
Saturday, March 30 - Greenville, SC – Peace Center
Monday, April 1 - Franklin, TN – The Franklin Theatre
Thursday, April 4 - Montgomery, AL – Montgomery Performing Arts Centre
Friday, April 5 - Macon, GA – Capitol Theatre
Saturday, April 6 – Jacksonville Beach, FL – Springing The Blues Music Festival
Tuesday, April 9 - Fort Lauderdale, FL – The Parker
Thursday, April 11 - Cornelius, NC – Cain Center for the Arts
Friday, April 12 - Annapolis, MD – Rams Head On Stage
Saturday, April 13 - Riverhead, NY – The Suffolk
Monday, April 15 - Homer, NY – Center for the Arts of Homer
Tuesday, April 16 - Old Saybrook, CT – The Kate
Thursday, April 18 - Portsmouth, NH – Jimmy's Jazz & Blues Club
Friday, April 19 - Great Barrington, MA – Mahaiwe Performing Arts Center
Saturday, April 20 - Sellersville, PA – Sellersville Theater
Tuesday, April 23 - Red Bank, NJ – The Vogel
Thursday, April 25 - State College, PA – The State Theatre
Friday, April 26 - Hagerstown, MD – The Maryland Theatre
Sunday, April 28 - Royal Oak, MI – Royal Oak Music Theatre
Monday, April 29 - Kent, OH – The Kent Stage
Wednesday, May 1 - Pittsburgh, PA – Byham Theater
Thursday, May 2 - Frankfort, KY – The Grand Theatre
Friday, May 3 - Skokie, IL – North Shore Center in Skokie