KillerStar Share The New Single “Got Me All Wrong” From Their Self-Titled Debut Album Out 3/1

Article Contributed by SRO | Published on Friday, January 12, 2024

As heard on their introductory singles “Falling Through” and “Should’ve Known Better,” Rob Fleming and James Sedge’s new band KillerStar expresses timeless ‘70s musicianship and art-rock invention through a contemporary prism. And if you’re reeling back the years, where better to look for inspiration than the late great David Bowie? The duo have called upon an array of his key collaborators for the project—Earl Slick (guitar), Gail Ann Dorsey (bass), Mike Garson (piano), Emm Gryner (backing vocals), Mark Plati (bass), Tim Lefebvre (bass) and Donny McCaslin (saxophone)—and collectively they’re created the seemingly impossible: a band that’s new and essential for 2024, but also one that channels the creative ethos and independent spirit of the man himself.

Today (January 12), KillerStar take another big step towards the March 1 release of their self-titled debut album by sharing the new single and video “Got Me All Wrong.” Opening with an instant earworm of a guitar riff, it’s a song which has the immediacy of an old favorite: sophisticated pop-rock with a strut in its step, effortlessly cool vocal harmonies, and the space for every musician to bring their personality and flair to the fore. Musicians playing on “Got Me All Wrong” are Rob Fleming (vocals, guitar, synths) and James Sedge (drums) with guests from the David Bowie band: Earl Slick (guitar), Gail Ann Dorsey (bass), Mike Garson (piano), and Emm Gryner (backing vocals).

Rob Fleming says, “‘Got Me All Wrong’ has a groove and a high energy reflective of the lyrics and playful joy of the tune. James and I are joined by ex-David Bowie bandmates and collaborators Earl Slick, Gail Ann Dorsey, Mike Garson, and Emm Gryner. It was fantastic to have them come together again and work on this new music with us and throughout the whole album. The song ends with something of a musical tour de force of angular crunchy guitar riffs and a virtuoso signature piano solo from Mike.”

Just as the track playfully subverts throwback influences for a new era, the accompanying video does likewise by reimagining visual motifs inspired by the 1920s with a magnetic new performance from Sophie Allen. The video was premiered January 10 by The Big Takeover.

As director JJ Eringa (The Anchoress, Asylums) explains, “What I loved most about the song was its brilliant contrast of angular guitars with swirling sequences that are really quite hypnotic. This video uses sequences from Dada films by Hans Richter, Marcel Duchamp and Man Ray, which I love because this video is an opportunity to do a variation on what they were doing back then, recontextualising materials for a new purpose and giving them new life! This is all built around a brilliant central performance from Sophie Allen, who captured the exact balance of playfulness and undeniable cool that I was looking for, and which I think is present in the song too.”

KillerStar was formed by Rob Fleming (vocals, guitars, synths) and James Sedge (drums) to capture a sound that had previously felt missing: one that linked the current resurgence of psychedelia, the contemporary indie and alternative scenes, and the primal rush of early ‘70s rock ‘n’ roll. While they were definitively David Bowie fans, the idea of assembling a team of his collaborators arose more by chance than design when Rob invited Emm Gryner to contribute vocals before the other members arrived almost fortuitously.

With songs exuding gritty rock ‘n’ roll and time-honoured glamour, the record was full written and arranged by Rob and James before being completed by some suitably top tier collaborators. Mixing was provided by Dave Eringa, best known for his long-term creative connection with Manic Street Preachers, while mastering was provided by Miles Showell at Abbey Road.

The result is the band’s debut album, which is available to pre-order HERE. It will be released on limited edition 180-gram gold vinyl, black vinyl, CD and digital formats.

KillerStar will play a special UK album launch show at London’s 100 Club on March 16th. Rob and James will be joined by three of the key musicians on the album in the shape of Mike Garson, Earl Slick, Mark Plati and Emm Gryner (who will also play an opening solo set) along with keyboardist Dom Beken (Nick Mason’s Saucerful of Secrets, The Orb). Remaining tickets are available HERE.