Article Contributed by Compass Records | Published on Thursday, May 6, 2021

Leftover Salmon's new album, BRAND NEW GOOD OLD DAYS, is out tomorrow and marks the band's return to Compass Records. With praise from publications including Relix, American Songwriter, The Bluegrass Situation and many more to come, the album reaffirms the band’s ability to keep things fresh while remaining true to their musical heritage. Widely regarded as one of the architects of the jam band scene, Leftover Salmon has been brewing its own potent blend of bluegrass, rock ‘n’ roll, folk, Cajun, soul, zydeco, jazz and blues music for over 30 years and continues to be one of the most popular acts on the festival scene, headlining three sold-out nights Colorado this weekend (two at Red Rocks) before kicking off their 2021 tour dates.

BRAND NEW GOOD OLD DAYS finds the group covering Soundgarden (a Salmonized version of their megahit “Black Hole Sun), John Hartford ("Category Stomp”) and the late Conway Twitty (“Boogie Grass Band”), with songwriting contributions from five of the members including the bluegrass infused title track and the jazzy "Flyin' at Night."

Members of Leftover Salmon currently include Vince Herman (vocals, guitar, washboard), Drew Emmitt (vocals, mandolin, fiddle, electric guitar), Greg Garrison (bass, vocals), who also produced the new album, Andy Thorn (banjo electric banjo, vocals) and Alwyn Robinson (drums, vocals), all who contribute songs to the album. This line-up’s diversity and range contribute to the continuing evolution of the band.

Leftover Salmon have collaborated with everyone from the cream of American roots artists (1999’s groundbreaking NASHVILLE SESSIONS) and indie oddballs Cracker, to more recent albums produced by Los Lobos’ Steve Berlin. Over the years they've endured the death of a founding member and line-up changes, yet  managed to stay true to their fans and their sound.