LETTUCE New Studio Album 'Resonate' Out Now

Article Contributed by Press Here Publicity | Published on Saturday, May 9, 2020

Today, GRAMMY-nominated funk-jazz-soul-hip-hop-psychedelic-jam-experimental titans Lettuce have released their seventh studio album, Resonate, via Round Hill Records. PRESS HERE to listen. The new 11-track collection, featuring the previously released songs "Checker Wrecker," "'NDUGU" and "House of Lett," is a sonic continuation of the acclaimed sextet's 2019 GRAMMY Award-nominated album Elevate, which earned the band their first collective nomination in the category of Best Contemporary Instrumental Album.

On Resonate, which plays like a master class in funk sub-genres, Lettuce continue to be celebrated boundary-pushing innovators nearly three decades into their lauded career, blurring the lines and smashing it up with jazz chords, psychedelic passages, big horns, strains of soul and go-go, hip-hop elements and a joyful, uplifting improvisational sound all their own. Resonate was helmed by esteemed producer and engineer Russ Elevado [D'Angelo, The Roots, Erykah Badu] and written and recorded during the same Colorado Sound Studio sessions for Elevate, which hit #1 on both the Billboard Contemporary Jazz Albums Chart and iTunes Top R&B Albums Chart and has racked up more than 3 million streams.

Upheld by deft riffing, hummable horns, and "Tower of Power energy," Resonate ignites with the boisterous "Blaze," which the band has kicked around live for years. Drawing on a longstanding collective passion for Washington, DC go-go music, Lettuce welcomed scene legends Big Tony Fisher of Trouble Funk and Tyrone "Jungle Boogie" Williams of Rare Essence into their ecosystem for the funkified lead single "Checker Wrecker." "House of Lett" taps into a more dance-inspired sound, encouraging listeners to lose themselves in the music and get up and move. Lettuce also found inspiration from many of their idols for Resonate ranging from James Brown on the soulful jam "Mr. Dynamite" to legendary drummer Leon 'Ndugu' Chancler for the groovy instrumental "'NDUGU." One of only two tracks featuring vocals is "Remember The Children," the band's version of the Earth, Wind & Fire deep-cut that showcases Lettuce vocalist Nigel Hall. Meanwhile, "Moksha" explores the edges of psychedelia with legendary sitarist Indrajit Banerjee blessing the tune with sitar conjurations floating in and out of ethereal guitar transmissions. Nearing the nine-minute mark, the closer and title track "Resonate" sees the band once again tread new territory with a more meditational, mood vibe. Full track listing below.

A powerhouse collective made up of world-class master musicians, the members of Lettuce - Adam Deitch (drums, percussion, arrangement), Adam "Shmeeans" Smirnoff (guitar), Erick "Jesus" Coomes (bass), Ryan Zoidis (alto, baritone, tenor sax, Korg X-911), Eric "Benny" Bloom (trumpet, horns) and Nigel Hall (vocals, Hammond B-3, Rhodes, clavinet, keyboards) - are also some of the most highly sought-after musicians in the industry with resumes that read like a who's who in hip-hop, pop, and beyond, working and performing with everyone from Kanye West, Lady Gaga, Stevie Wonder, Questlove, Justin Timberlake, The Fugees, Eminem, Dr. Dre, Britney Spears, Gary Clark Jr., Skrillex, Solange, and so many more. Lettuce's ever-changing and all-inclusive musical palette is often praised for the way it blurs lines and smashes together genres into exciting and compelling art - drawing acclaim from everyone from NPR, New York Times, Consequence of Sound and Billboard to BrooklynVegan, Earmilk, HipHopDX and Relix. PRESS HERE to watch the official live video for "House of Lett," demonstrating the remarkable live shows that Lettuce is renowned for.

Lettuce are more alive than ever on Resonate and hope to give listeners a sensation of genuine emotion and personal transformation. As Deitch puts it, "if you let good vibes resonate with the people around you, they'll hit hearts, minds, and souls."


1. Blaze

2. Good Morning Mr. Shmink


4. Checker Wrecker

5. Silence Is Golden

6. Moksha

7. Mr. Dynamite

8. Remember The Children

9. 'Lude

10. House of Lett

11. Resonate