Liz Beebe To Release Hush Now: Lullabies for Sleepy People

Article Contributed by Press Junkie PR | Published on Tuesday, July 24, 2018

Liz Beebe is best known as the female powerhouse of the critically acclaimed band Dustbowl Revival. With an international touring schedule that spans over continents, and months on the road, Beebe found herself becoming an aunt in the midst of the madness. A desire to be present and contribute to the lives of her family and loved ones became what is her first lullaby album, Hush Now, Lullabies for Sleepy People.
The idea of a children’s album focused on lullabies was something that had been brewing for a year or so before Liz started creating the demos. Inspiration came from her friends and family who sent her lists of songs they loved and sang to their own children. From there, she put her own unique twist on each song. Liz recalls, “I wanted to challenge myself and make something of my own. I work with seven talented musicians who, mostly, came up in the industry knowing that working and touring would be part of their career. As someone who fell in sideways, unexpectedly, I have been known to treat myself, with more doubt and skepticism. Making this album was an exercise in creativity and joy.”
While on the road with Dustbowl Revival, Liz could be found in her makeshift recording booth, a hotel closet stuffed full of winter sweaters, jackets, pillows, comforters- anything she could find to create soundproofing material. Back at home and demos in hand, Liz set out to lay down the album - with the same ingenuity she learned from the road, turning her home closet into a booth. Her bandmate, Connor Vance, lent her a hand in tracking the album’s gorgeous natural guitar, violin and viola. Daniel Gordon (Phoenix Asteroid, Sun Domingo) and Brahm Bourque (Echoes De Luxe, and Liz’s husband) produced the album and brought the playfulness and dreamy sweetness of the tracks to life.
From Liz, “I took care of children from the age of 11 until about a year after moving to Los Angeles as an adult. I used to sing those children to sleep for every nap and bedtime. I hope this album is a way of continuing that tradition, with songs people know and love.”
The standout tracks include a cover of James Taylor’s “Sweet Baby James”, Liz’s favorite “I Don’t Want to Live on the Moon” a song she first heard when sung by Shawn Colvin on “Elmopalooza” when her baby brother was born. Alongside classics like “Baby Beluga”, “Blackbird”, “Twinkle Twinkle Little Star” and “ You are My Sunshine”. Hush Now: Lullabies for Sleepy People proves itself a soundtrack for all ages and generations and their loved ones. The album is due out July 27th on Mensch House Records. Make sure to click here ( to reserve your copy.
Track List

1. "Baby Beluga"
2. "You Are My Sunshine"
3. "I Don’t Want to Live on the Moon" 
4. "Edelweiss"
5. "Baby Mine"
6. "Blackbird"
7. "Sweet Baby James"
8. "Twinkle Twinkle Little Star"
9. "Stay Awake"
10. "Dream of Powder Blue"