Lonesome River Band is Set to Release New Album

Article Contributed by Lonesome River Band | Published on Tuesday, September 16, 2014

For more than three decades, Lonesome River Band has set a standard that other Bluegrass groups have aspired towards. They have returned to live up to that standard with their first original studio release in four years, Turn on a Dime, from Mountain Home Music Company.

Turn on a Dime showcases Lonesome River Band at the top of their creative game. When masterful players and vocalists combine with top notch material and thoughtful arrangement, the result is a dynamic release.

Led by five-time International Bluegrass Music Association (IBMA) Banjo Player of the Year Sammy Shelor, the group holds a powerhouse line up of award-winning players including vocalist and songwriter Brandon Rickman on guitar, Mike Hartgrove on fiddle, Barry Reed on bass and Randy Jones on mandolin and vocals.

From the title track, “Her Love Won’t Turn On a Dime,” which offers a clever twist on a familiar phrase, to the jazz-influenced gospel track “Don’t Shed No Tears,” Turn on a Dime brings both excitement and nostalgia. Pulsing with drive and sentiment, the recording moves from the pocketed groove for which LRB is renowned to barn burning versions of ultra-traditional tunes like “Cumberland Gap.”

With Turn on a Dime, Lonesome River Band delivers the kind of album that made them an iconic band who pioneered and still shapes the modern bluegrass sound. 

Track Listing:

1.    Her Love Won’t Turn On a Dime
2.    Gone and Set Me Free
3.    Lila Mae
4.    Don’t Shed No Tears
5.    If the Moon Never Sees the Light of Day
6.    Teardrop Express
7.    Bonnie Brown
8.    Every Head Bowed
9.    Shelly’s Winter Love
10.  Hurting With My Broken Heart
11.  A Whole Lot of Nothing
12.  Holding To the Right Hand
13.  Cumberland Gap