Lotus Announces New Album, Build, out February 19th, 2013

Article Contributed by Giant Step | Published on Wednesday, December 12, 2012

The Lotus album Build, out February 19, 2013 on SCI Fidelity Records, propels through ten tracks with no wasted moments. Built on a foundation of beats evoking vinyl breaks, house, and big-beat, the album is a funky dance party from start to finish. The electronic infused 5-piece kicks things off with the release of the album’s first single, “Massif,now streaming on SoundCloud.

The unmistakable sound of a tight live band is at the heart of the album. Lotus has spent years rocking live crowds and that energy is distilled to a strong studio concentrate of body-moving beats and muscular melodies.

“This album was recorded live to analog tape in studios in Philadelphia and St. Louis,” explains Luke Miller. “We used live drums, guitar, bass, Hammond organ, upright piano, analog synths, live percussion, and live horns from the group Rubblebucket, then peppered in electronic elements. The project was mixed through an analog process to give it a deep richness.”

The group’s previous release, 2011’s self-titled album, had Filter stating, “A kiss to you post-rock electronic creations, you make me dance, smile, and meditate through the hours,” while Drum! proclaimed, “Lotus is so grab-your-nuts funky it’ll have your grandparents poppin’ and lockin’ at a flash mob. Drop it at an impromptu gathering and go from zero to hero the same night.”

A staple on the festival circuit in addition to capacity crowds at premier venues across the country, Lotus recently announced the first leg of the 2013 national tour in support of Build, the biggest outing the group has done to date (schedule below). The first part of the trek finds them hitting the Northeast including two New York City shows: Manhattan’s Best Buy Theater and Brooklyn’s Knitting Factory. From there, Lotus heads to the Midwest then it’s time to conquer the South including a two night run at Atlanta’s Terminal West. Before 2012 comes to an end, Lotus plays two nights at Chicago’s Riviera Theatre, Mr. Small’s in Millvale, PA and two nights in Baltimore to ring in the New Year.

Lotus is composed of Mike Greenfield (Drums), Jesse Miller (Bass, Sampler), Luke Miller (Guitar, Keys), Mike Rempel (Guitar) and Chuck Morris (Percussion).

Lotus On Tour 2012

December 27 & 28- Chicago, IL- Riviera Theatre

29- Millvale, PA- Mr. Small’s Theatre

30 & 31- Baltimore, MD- Rams Head Live

Lotus on Tour 2013 with openers Moon Hooch


24- Burlington, VT- Higher Ground

25- Boston, MA- House of Blues

26- New York, NY- Best Buy Theater

27- Brooklyn, NY- Knitting Factory * w/o Moon Hooch

30- Syracuse, NY- The Westcott Theater

31- Cleveland, OH- Beachland Ballroom


1- Royal Oak, MI- Royal Oak Theatre

2- Columbus, OH- Newport Music Hall * co-bill w/ Keller Williams

5- Grand Rapids, MI- The Intersection

6- Bloomington, IN- Jake’s

7- Milwaukee, WI- Turner Hall Ballroom

8- Madison, WI- Barrymore Theatre

9- Minneapolis, MN- Mill City Nights

12- Lincoln, NE- Bourbon Theatre

13- Fayetteville, AR- George’s Majestic Lounge

14- Oklahoma City, OK- Diamond Ballroom

15- Dallas, TX- Trees

16- Austin, TX- Stubb’s BBQ

19- Tallahassee, FL- The Moon

20-Tampa, FL- The Ritz Ybor

21- Orlando, FL- Beacham Theater

22- Ft. Lauderdale, FL- Culture Room

23- Jacksonville, FL- Freebird Live

26- Wilmington, NC- Brooklyn Performing Arts Center

27- Carrboro, NC- Cat’s Cradle

28- Asheville, NC- Orange Peel


1 & 2- Atlanta, GA- Terminal West