Lotus releases Build + "Kodiak" Video Premiere

Article Contributed by Giant Step | Published on Tuesday, February 19, 2013

Lotus releases its latest studio album, Build, today on SCI Fidelity Records. Built on a foundation of beats evoking vinyl breaks, house, and big-beat, the album is a funky dance party from start to finish. The unmistakable sound of a tight live band is at the heart of the album. Lotus has spent years rocking live crowds and that energy is distilled to a strong studio concentrate of body-moving beats and muscular melodies.

“This album was recorded live to analog tape in studios in Philadelphia and St. Louis,” explains Luke Miller. “We used live drums, guitar, bass, Hammond organ, upright piano, analog synths, live percussion, and live horns from the group Rubblebucket, then peppered in electronic elements. The project was mixed through an analog process to give it a deep richness.”

Build, shows just how much the band has evolved,” states the Cleveland Scene. “The opening track, ‘Break Build Burn,’ for example, is a heady number that mixes and matches tape loops with funk riffs and jazzy fills.”

To celebrate the release of Build, Lotus premieres the official video for “Kodiak.” Shot by NoCoast.tv at the group’s headline debut at Colorado’s esteemed Red Rocks Amphitheatre on September 8, 2012, the video captures scenes backstage and in the venue packed with over 7,000 fans.

Lotus is currently touring the United States on its biggest outing ever. The band kicked things off in January throughout the Northeast and into the Midwest with multiple sell outs including New York City’s Best Buy Theater. Lotus is now performing throughout the South before heading west to Arizona and up the California coast playing at such venues a Los Angeles’ El Rey Theatre and San Francisco’s The Fillmore. The Northwest then gets shows in Seattle and Portland before Lotus heads to Utah and throughout Colorado. The second leg of the tour ends with what is sure to be a spectacular three-night run at the Boulder Theater. Lotus has also joined the line up of the Electric Forest Festival in June alongside Pretty Lights, Passion Pit, Yeasayer, Grimes and more.

Lotus is composed of Mike Greenfield (Drums), Jesse Miller (Bass, Sampler), Luke Miller (Guitar, Keys), Mike Rempel (Guitar) and Chuck Morris (Percussion).

Lotus on Tour 2013


19- Tallahassee, FL- The Moon *

20-Tampa, FL- The Ritz Ybor *

21- Orlando, FL- Beacham Theater *

22- Ft. Lauderdale, FL- Culture Room *

23- Jacksonville, FL- Freebird Live *

26- Wilmington, NC- Brooklyn Performing Arts Center *

27- Carrboro, NC- Cat’s Cradle *

28- Asheville, NC- Orange Peel *


1 & 2- Atlanta, GA- Terminal West  *

15- Richmond, VA- The National w/ The Werks

16- Richmond, VA- The National w/ Former Champions

17- Chattanooga, TN - Track 29 w/ Summer Dregs

20- Phoenix, AZ- Crescent Ballroom **

21- Tucson, AZ- Rialto Theatre **

22- Los Angeles, CA- El Rey Theatre **

23- San Francisco, CA- The Fillmore **

26- Petaluma, CA- McNear's Mystic Thetre **

27- Chico, CA- Senator Theater **

28- Arcata, CA- Arcata Theatre **

29- Portland, OR- Roseland Theater **

30- Seattle, WA- The Showbox At The Market **


1- Park City, UT- Park City Live **

2- Aspen, CO- Belly Up Aspen **

3- Fort Collins, CO- Aggie Theatre **

4, 5 & 6- Boulder, CO- Boulder Theater


17- Rothbury, MI- Electric Forest Festival

* w/ Moon Hooch

** w/ Vibesquad