Mark Knopfler's new album "One Deep River" out now

Article Contributed by Sacks and Company | Published on Friday, April 12, 2024

Flatiron Recordings is thrilled to unveil the highly anticipated debut of One Deep River, the tenth solo studio album from Mark Knopfler, on his own label, British Grove, via Blue Note/EMI. This album offers an unstoppable flow of future Knopfler classics, featuring his customarily learned lyrics and refined guitar textures. Drawing on a lifetime of genre-crossing ingredients and influences in blues, folk, rock, and beyond, listeners are invited to explore the album here.

Produced by Knopfler and his longstanding collaborator of more than 40 years, Guy Fletcher, One Deep River was recorded at his state-of-the-art British Grove Studios in London. The band features Knopfler on guitars, Jim Cox and Guy Fletcher on keyboards, Glenn Worf on bass, Ian Thomas on drums, Danny Cummings on percussion, Richard Bennett on guitar, and newcomer Greg Leisz on pedal and lap steel. Additionally, Mike McGoldrick provides whistle and uilleann pipes, while John McCusker plays fiddle, and the Topolski sisters, Emma and Tamsin, contribute backing vocals. All songs on the album are written by Knopfler.

Leading into the release, Knopfler shared three album tracks, namely “Ahead Of The Game,” “Watch Me Gone,” and “Two Pairs Of Hands.”

The new album adds to what has already been a busy year for Knopfler. In January, the Mark Knopfler Guitar Collection was auctioned at Christie's, with several of the guitars selling for record-breaking sums. Last month, Knopfler’s Guitar Heroes released a spine-tingling reworking of his song, “Going Home (Theme From Local Hero),” entitled by a who’s who of legendary guitarists for the Teenage Cancer Trust and Teen Cancer America.

Knopfler has also teamed up with Brian Johnson, the singer from legendary rock band AC/DC, to produce a new six-part TV series for Sky Arts entitled “Johnson & Knopfler’s Music Legends.” The series takes a fascinating look at the history of popular music alongside various special guests, including Tom Jones, Sam Fender, Carlos Santana, Cyndi Lauper, Nile Rodgers, Emmylou Harris, and Vince Gill. The series is set to air on Sky Arts starting April 25th.

Mark Knopfler, singer-songwriter, record producer, and composer, is one of the most successful musicians the U.K. has ever produced and is often cited as one of the greatest guitarists of all time. He first came to prominence in the 80s as the leader of Dire Straits, creating many of the signature songs of the era. Knopfler disbanded the group in 1995 and embarked on a solo career, releasing nine solo albums of sophisticated rootsy rock. He continues to tour globally with his band and has written music for several films, including Local Hero, Cal, The Princess Bride, Last Exit to Brooklyn, and Wag The Dog. Knopfler has collaborated with numerous artists, such as Bob Dylan, Van Morrison, Emmylou Harris, Tina Turner, Randy Newman, and Chet Atkins. Knopfler was honored as an OBE in 1999 and received the prestigious Lifetime Achievement Award at the Ivor Novellos in 2012.

1. Two Pairs Of Hands
2. Ahead Of The Game
3. Smart Money
4. Scavengers Yard
5. Black Tie Jobs
6. Tunnel 13
7. Janine
8. Watch Me Gone
9. Sweeter Than The Rain
10. Before My Train Comes
11. This One’s Not Going To End Well
12. One Deep River
1. Dolly Shop Man
2. Your Leading Man
3. Wrong’un
4. Chess
1. The Living End
2. Fat Chance Dupree
3. Along A Foreign Coast
4. What I’m Gonna Need
5. Nothing But Rain