Mark Oblinger Just Released Debut Album HIGH WATER LINE

Article Contributed by EMPKT PR | Published on Wednesday, September 4, 2019

Introducing Grammy Finalist and five-time Emmy Award-winning composer/producer/performer Mark Oblinger out of Boulder, CO.  For the past four decades, Oblinger has had a very successful music career as a major-label nationally touring singer and guitarist, as well as an award-winning producer and songwriter. Today, Oblinger takes his well-deserved place at center stage as solo artist. He recently released his debut solo album, High Water Line, in July 2019. 


Oblinger's illustrious music career includes performing with highly successful national touring acts, chart-topping country rock stalwarts Pure Prairie League (“Amie”) and 7 years with Firefall (“Cinderella,” “You Are the Woman”). Oblinger also worked with Rock and Roll Hall of Famer Richie Furay (Buffalo Springfield, Poco) and in recent years with Garth Brooks, Amy Grant, John Oates, Jeff Hanna (Dirt Band), Drew Emmit and Vince Herman (Leftover Salmon), Billy Nershi (String Cheese Incident) and many others.

A vibrant, fresh approach to classic Indie Rock, High Water Line blends unusual musical elements with vivid lyrical pictures to reflect the common storylines of our lives and times. The lyrics deal with a woman's choice ("Julia"), the daily "work" of love ("Love Is"), the uncompromising nature of passion (“No Regrets”), an emphatic call to action/personal change ("Little Bird"), among other themes.

Oblinger pulled together a top-notch team of industry pros to create his new body of work, including producer John McVey (Chuck Pyle, Yonder Mountain String Band) and mix engineer James Tuttle (AAA radio favorites Big Head Todd, String Cheese Incident, Michael Franti, Hot Rize). He recorded the album with drummer Christian Teele, bassist Chris Engleman and Grammy-nominated multi-instrumentalist Nick Forster (Founder & host of nationally syndicated E-Town, Hot Rize) - all members of the eTones (who backed James Taylor, Rickie Lee Jones, Moby, Ben Harper, Joan Osborne, and many more). Other musicians on the album include bassist Greg Garrison (Leftover Salmon), pianist Eric Moon (Björk, Rare Silk, Jill Sobule), the Railsplitter's Pete Sharpe (mandolin) and Dusty Rider (banjo) plus background vocals by Robert Johnson (Steve Wonder) and Linda Lawson (Amy Grant, Garth Brooks, John Oates).

Colorado Music Hall of Famer Chris Daniels says about Oblinger’s new album, “High Water Line lives in that wonderful place between jam band and Jackson Browne.” Three-time Grammy winning producer Tom Wasinger raves, “Riveting and haunting songwriting, flawless musicianship, masterful production, and soaring above it all the golden throat of Mark Oblinger.”

For more updates and shows by Mark Oblinger, visit