The Mystery Lights Announce New Album 'Purgatory' Set for September 2024 Release

Article Contributed by gratefulweb | Published on Thursday, July 4, 2024

After a well-deserved break, The Mystery Lights are back with their most ambitious album to date. With Wayne Gordon returning as producer, the band, along with long-time label Wick Records, is set to release their third full-length album, Purgatory, this September.

The Mystery Lights' journey began in 2004 in the small town of Salinas, California, when friends Michael Brandon and Luis Alfonso bonded over their shared love for bands like The MC5, Velvet Underground, Dead Moon, and The Fall. They spent the next decade touring relentlessly before moving to Queens, New York, in 2014.

Known for their raw, visceral live shows and relentless energy, The Mystery Lights quickly gained a fervent local following in NYC, performing at numerous haunts and DIY venues. This buzz caught the attention of Daptone Records, leading to their signing with Wick Records. Their debut self-titled album, released on June 24, 2016, was hailed by NME as “one of New York’s finest garage rock bands.” Extensive touring followed, including multiple stops in Europe, Asia, and Australia, where the band moved from supporting slots in small clubs to headlining major festival stages.

Their second album, Too Much Tension, continued their hard-hitting approach while exploring a deeper well of eclectic influences. Now, with their third album Purgatory on the horizon, The Mystery Lights are ready to showcase their most diverse and cohesive work yet.

Shortly after plans were set to record in Los Angeles, bassist Alex Amini suffered a severe motorcycle accident, resulting in 12 broken bones and a mountain of hospital bills. Thanks to the support of friends, family, and good fortune, Alex recovered and joined the group for the LA recording sessions.

Set for release in September 2024, Purgatory features an eclectic mix of psychedelia, punk, art rock, and even a touch of country. Tracks like "I'm Sorry I Forgot Your Name" showcase Kinks-esque pop hooks, while "Purgatory," "Cerebral Crack," and "Can't Sleep Through the Silence" delve into dark, trippy psychedelia reminiscent of the 13th Floor Elevators and The Monks. Throughout the album, the band's elevated musicianship, earnest lyrics, and attention to detail shine through, making for a fiercely raw yet catchy collection of songs.

Catch The Mystery Lights live this fall in a city near you as they tour in support of Purgatory. This is a tour you won't want to miss!

Band Members:

  • Mike Brandon (lead vocals/guitar)
  • LA Solano (lead guitar)
  • Alex Amini (bass)
  • Lily Rogers (keys)
  • Zach Butler (drums)