The New Motif Announce Live Album & Spring Outdoor Residency

Article Contributed by Loose Leaf Tal… | Published on Wednesday, March 17, 2021

The innovative sounds and addictive grooves of The New Motif, the Northeast's hottest up-and-coming funk fusion jam band, are planning to wake from the Covid slumber for Spring 2021. The band has announced their second official live album titled ‘Live from the Lobby’. It is set for early hard copy release on Thursday 4.8.21, the opening night of their spring residency at Soundcheck Studios in Pembroke, MA. The album will release across all digital platforms on 4.20.21. The New Motif will occupy Soundcheck’s outdoor stage the first Thursday & Friday of every month, April through June for a total of 6 shows, beginning April 8th and 9th. Both of which are already sold out!

Following a very busy 2019, a year that boasted a full-length debut studio album (The Reciprocal Boogie), 63 shows across 9 states culminating in a New Years Eve performance with jam scene staple Pink Talking Fish at the iconic Paradise Rock Club in Boston, MA, 2020 was naturally a slower year. Like the rest of the industry, they were forced to cancel their spring and summer tours and get creative in staying in touch with their audience. They also welcomed new guitar player, Tyler Arnott to the band. The year materialized into a lot of new writing with over 30 new songs, 4 socially distanced shows, and drive-ins, 3 of which sold out, as well as a couple, live stream events.

2021 is looking brighter as things begin to open and live music begins to come back, The New Motif is prepped and ready to jump on the chance to reach fans and deliver more music to their audiences. The band is also planning to get back into the studio for their second full-length album, expected to release later in the year.

Look out for TNM on some North East festival and venue stages this summer. For more information, shows, archives, and releases head to The New Motif is Cory Schechtman (Keyboards, Saxophone & Vocals), Dan Kelly (Bass, Vocals), Tyler Arnott (Guitar, Vocals), and Sean Ball (Drums, Vocals).