Out now: Son of Cloud, solo debut of Jonathan Seale

Article Contributed by One In A Milli… | Published on Friday, April 12, 2019

Son of Cloud (nee Jonathan Seale) has released his self-titled debut album today, April 12th 2019. After years spent as a successful producer, working with artists such as Feist, Lucius, Fleet Foxes, Andrew Bird and more, and time spent fronting the Brooklyn-based band, Flearoy, Seale is ready to make his mark as a solo artist.

Seale unveiled the Son of Cloud project in a live setting just this past March, at a special concert at a Quaker Meeting House in Brooklyn, NY. The show was an immersive multimedia event, featuring an interactive light sculpture designed by Seale and artist Adam November. Perhaps most impressively, Seale co-created a mobile app that allowed the audience to participate in the music. At key moments, concert goers were prompted to contribute to the sonic landscape of the performance, heard sound effects from around the room and were even led in a sing along via messages on their screens.

Born in the flatlands of Texas and raised in the jungles of South America, Seale was dubbed "Son of Cloud" as a child by the Yukpa indigenous tribe of Venezuela. Ten years in the making, his debut LP, self-titled under that moniker, explores questions related to his own family tribes - both the ones inherited and the ones created by choice. He explains, “When I started making records professionally at age 20, I decided that I wanted to focus on supporting the writing of other artists because I felt that I hadn't lived enough life to make a meaningful contribution to the world as a songwriter. The songs that meant the most to me growing up were the ones that contained a kind of raw humanity powerful enough to communicate to the listener that they are not alone. I decided I didn't want to release a record until I felt I would be able to give that feeling to someone else. These songs have been my journal entries for the past ten years, marking family milestones of birth and death, marriage and separation. Now I’m sending them out into the world to find new homes in the hearts and ears of other people who need songs in the way that I do.”

In 2007, Seale co-founded Mason Jar Music and Nomadique, two collectives committed to fostering a community of artists in the city as well as producing work that is soulful and genuine. Following their collaboration with Grammy-winning artist, Feist, in 2012, Mason Jar Music was named the world's 6th most innovative music company by Fast Company Magazine and was highlighted by NPR, Paste Magazine, The Village Voice and many more. Nomadique's multimedia work has been featured in The New York Times, CNN, SXSW and National Geographic Magazine.

Never one to stop creating, Son of Cloud is already working on new material, and will be bringing the interactive show to additional markets soon.

Son of Cloud Track Listing

1. How To Love You Today
2. Sam And The Trees
3. Who Could Ask For More
4. For Tom (Interlude)
5. Requiem For Dana Lynn
6. I Am Not An Island
7. Parade
8. Restoration Song (Hold On)
9. New Seeds (Interlude)
10. I Love You More