Paul Bond releases debut album, 'Sunset Blues'

Article Contributed by gratefulweb | Published on Wednesday, November 17, 2021

Paul Bond’s debut album 'Sunset Blues’ is a stunning debut from a young songwriter based in Amsterdam, the Netherlands. Its 7 songs deal with the subject of becoming a father, or rather, the moment one finds out one is about to become a father. Happiness, confusion and existential despair are all thrown into the cocktail that is the human mind. Bond’s university degree in English literature and philosophy helps him to deal with this theme in a profound and unique way; his songwriting has been compared to Jackson Brown and James Taylor, as well as to contemporary folk artists such as Iron & Wine and Fleet Foxes. Literary influences are Ernest Hemingway, F. Scott Fitzgerald and Ezra Pound. For this album Bond collaborated with mastering engineer Ed Brooks, based in Seattle, WA, who has worked with Fleet Foxes in the past. ’Sunset Blues’ will be released on 18 November on the Concerto Records label, the legendary Amsterdam record store, on both 10” vinyl and CD.

Sunset Blues can be ordered here:

Track list:
1. Sunset Blues
2. Same Song, Different Groove
3. Season of the Acorn
4. Sweet Marie
5. Night Shift
6. The Young and Cheap
7. Goodbye, My Love