Rick Monroe's 'Gypsy Soul' Streets May 12

Article Contributed by so much MOORE media | Published on Thursday, April 20, 2017

Singer/songwriter Rick Monroe breaks new ground with his May 12 release, GYPSY SOUL.  The six-track project shows Monroe's continued growth as a vocalist and the rich diversity of both his writing and performing.  Sean Giovanni (John Rich, Clint Black, Big & Rich) produced five of the tracks, while renowned engineer/producer JD Shuff (Collin Raye, CeCe Wynans) helmed one.  Fans can pre-order a personally-signed copy of the GYPSY SOUL EP now HERE.

Opening the disc is the groove-based first single, "This Side Of You."  Already resonating with radio and listeners alike, it debuted at #74 on the MusicRow CountryBreakout™ Chart last week.  Fans can preview the track now on Spotify.   A laid back, porch-swing attitude imbues the mid-tempo "Ease On Down" with a rare sweetness while paying homage to the simple pleasures of life and love.  "Better" offers dynamic instrumentation, a convincing vocal and soaring chorus to celebrate finding that special someone.  "Gypsy Soul" reflects Rick's own life journey and acknowledges the freedom found in living life like a rolling stone.  Monroe gets edgier on "Moment Like This," which features shredding guitars, a clear-as-a-bell mix and special intro vocal effects while asking "should I stay or should I go?"  The EP closes with "Rage On," a dynamic mix of 80s Outlaw and eternal Southern Gospel that highlights outstanding Hammond B-3 work, gritty "Muscle Shoals-esque" horns and Rick's memorable Blues-infused vocal.

Monroe is promoting the new EP with shows and radio station visits across the country - and loving every minute of it.   "I know everyone says this," observes the handsome vocalist.  "But I really do believe that this is the best music I've put out to date.  It's not a party album ... although there's nothing wrong with a good party," he adds with a laugh.  "Folks are really responding to the music - and that's what I live for."

Track Listing

  "This Side Of You" (Rick Monroe, Jason Duke, Ryan Griffin)

 "Better" (Rick Monroe, Eric Torres, Mike Freeman)

 "Ease On Down (Rick Monroe, Adam Craig, Michael Howard)

  "Gypsy Soul" (Rick Monroe)

  "Moment Like This" (Rick Monroe, Jay Brunswick, Gary Ray)

  "Rage On" (Rick Monroe, JD Shuff)