Rock Hearts Release Debut Album, Wanderlust

Article Contributed by 615 Hideaway | Published on Friday, September 15, 2023

615 Hideaway Records is pleased to announce the label debut album release Wanderlust from Rock Hearts. Rock Hearts are excited and thrilled to have collaborated with such greats as 6-time IBMA Female vocalist of the Year, Dale Ann Bradley, folk icon, Jonathan Edwards, and Grammy-Award winning fiddler, Michael Cleveland.

Wanderlust features ten songs including several originals from both national and New England-based songwriters, including Bob Minner & Thomm Jutz, John Diamond, Sam Tidwell, Bill Smith, Stan Keach, Seth Sawyer, as well as Rock Hearts’ own Alex MacLeod and Billy Thibodeau. Also included are cover songs from Malcom McKinney, Bruch Carrol, Kevin Thomas and Mickey Hiter and Merle Haggard and Bonnie Owens.

Album highlights include Michael Cleveland’s blazing fiddle break and equally complimenting double fiddle freak with Austin Scslzo on Alex MacLeod’s original song and title track “Wanderlust”. Six-time IBMA Female Vocalist of the Year, Dale Ann Bradley, lends her beautifully gifted voice on the touching gospel song “Driving Nails”. Folk icon Jonathan Edwards contributes his unmistakable vocals to a cover of Malcom McKinney’s “Don’t Cry Blue”, a massive hit for Jonathan Edwards in 1971. “Cotton, Corn and Hay” is a farming song penned by guitar-player extraordinaire, Bob Minner, and IBMA Songwriter of the Year Thomm Jutz. The second single “The Last Log Drive” was well received because of its authenticity and historical relevance.


01                Green Mountain Girl

02                Don’t Cry Blue

03                Cotton, Corn, and Hay

04                Wanderlust

05                Driving Nails

06                Butter In the Mustache

07                Leaving

08                The Last Log Drive

09                Today I Started Loving You Again

10                Tired of These Little Games You’re Playing

Alex MacLeod of Rock Hearts explains the bands’ goal for Wanderlust. “We wanted to feature a lot of original material on this album. Classic Covers are always fun to do but with so many talented songwriters offering their songs to us, we felt it was important for listeners to hear Rock Hearts through a filter of original songs and authentic interpretations of covers, verses trying to copy or duplicate the sounds that already exist. Everywhere we play, folks say ‘You all sound so tight’. That’s exactly what we set out to do when we started. We wanted to render a tight and energized brand of authentic bluegrass and we feel confident that Wanderlust accomplished that goal.”

Wanderlust is the debut album from ROCK HEARTS on 615 Hideaway Records. Produced by Ned Luberecki Wanderlust was recorded at Dark Shadow Recording Studio and contains performances by Alex MacLeod (Vocals and Guitar), Joe Deetz (Banjo), Billy Thibodeau (Vocals and Mandolin), Rick Brodsky (Bass) and Austin Scelzo (Fiddle), with special guest performances by Jonathan Edwards and Dale Ann Bradley (Vocals).

 Wanderlust is available for download to D.J.’s and program directors on AirPlay Direct.

Wanderlust is available commercially for downloads and streaming wherever digital streaming is available including Spotify, Amazon Music, Apple Music, YouTube Music, deezer and more.

Formed in 2013, Rock Hearts brings together five veteran musicians from Southern New England who love to sing and pick bluegrass, old Country tunes, and seek out new tunes from other genres to “Bluegrass-ify”. Named an official 2021 IBMA Showcase Band, Rock Hearts is enjoying national radio and chart activity. They are a sought-after band for major festivals and recently signed with Sammy Passamano III, and 615 Hideaway Records in Nashville, TN. Rock Hearts received outstanding fanfare and strong radio success prior to their album release of Wanderlust.

Rock Hearts are performing throughout the United States on their Wanderlust Tour - 202