Scotch Hollow releases "Little Tortuga"

Article Contributed by August Forte | Published on Friday, March 17, 2017

Scotch Hollow is a roots band that mixes a generous helping of country twang with just enough blues to stir the pot. The group was founded by Mark Verbeck (guitar, songwriter) and vocalist Carly Martin, who met at the Berklee School of Music.

Based in Kansas City, MO, the group now includes JD Linn (bass), Benjamin Scholz (drums, percussion), Brady Buster (harmonica) and Joel Schuman (piano). Verbeck wrote all but three songs on the newest release 'Little Tortuga' and those were written by Little Walter, Howlin’ Wolf and Blind Willie Johnson.

Little Tortuga has received critical acclaim from PopDose, The Alternate Root, JP's Music Blog, Listen Here Reviews, The Modern Folk and Beehive Candy and tracks from the album have been featured on the Americana Rock Mix, WNCU, KAFM, KAOS and KALX.

Scotch Hollow will be embarking on a U.S. summer tour that will run from June 3 through August 12, 2017.