‘Seven Colors’: Where Swiss Precision Meets Jazz Passion in Post-Bop's New Chapter

Article Contributed by gratefulweb | Published on Monday, September 18, 2023

With echoes of the early 1960s and inspirations drawn from the mastery of legends like Miles Davis, Wayne Shorter, and Charles Mingues, the golden era of post-bop is set to shine once more. Elmar Frey, the esteemed Swiss drummer, is at the helm of this revival, announcing the upcoming release of ‘Seven Colors’ on the 3rd of November.

With a career punctuated by 13 records as a bandleader and over 30 as a sideman, Frey’s unparalleled experience sees him performing alongside jazz giants including Benny Golson, Kurt Rosenwinkel, Barry Harris, and Greg Osby. ‘Seven Colors’ serves as a nostalgic nod to Frey's 2005 sextet release ‘News From The Past’ but evolves its predecessor’s essence by introducing an additional brass voice, rendering a fuller and richer sound palette.

The album is a testament to the vibrancy of the Swiss Jazz scene, boasting an ensemble of virtuosic soloists including:

    Elmar Frey | Drums
    Daniel Schenker | Trumpet, Flugelhorn
    Christoph Grab | Tenor Sax, Soprano Sax, Flute
    Stefan Schlegel | Trombone, Valve Trombone
    Rodrigo Botter Maio | Alto sax, Flute
    Alessandro d’Episcopo | Piano
    German Klaiber | Bass

Each artist, a master in their own right, collaborates to form a cohesive entity. The septet, characterized by blues-infused melodies, rich grooves, and bold brass arrangements, is driven by a singular mission: to craft and spread sheer joy. “We're not attempting to fulfill any intellectual criteria with over-intellectual and pleasure-averse music," says Frey. "Our goal is to have fun and spread it."

‘Seven Colors’ will feature nine original compositions. Through this album, Frey ambitiously traverses the realms of post-bop, Soul-jazz, contemporary New York jazz trends, and even borrows elements from Latin and East-Asian music. His genius is evident in the meticulous arrangements that balance intricate, syncopated ensemble writing with high-energy improvisation.

The result? A playful, dynamic, and modern take on one of Jazz's most influential subgenres. With ‘Seven Colors’, the post-bop legacy is not just remembered, but reinvented.

Track Listing

1. Blue Course Ready
2. Here Comes Livio
3. Raffaela's Waltz
4. Oriental 2nd Line
5. Shadow Play
6. A Nightingale Sang In Berkeley Square
7. Silverish
8. Clarity
9. Peter's Blues
10. Zauberwelt

All compositions by Elmar Frey, except track 6 by Manning Sherwin.