T Bone Burnett unveils new track "Mother Cross (We Think We Think)" from 'The Invisible Light: Spells' out 8/5

Article Contributed by Sacks and Company | Published on Friday, July 15, 2022

Today, Grammy-and Oscar-winner T Bone Burnett, Jay Bellerose and Keefus Ciancia unveil a new song from their forthcoming album. Listen/share “Mother Cross (We Think We Think)” HERE and watch/share the official lyric video HERE.

The track is from The Invisible Light: Spells, which features two very different versions of “Mother Cross,” including a reprise. The song brings to light the reason behind the false realities: fear, belief and willing forgetfulness.

This is the second installment of The Invisible Light trilogy, following 2019’s acclaimed The Invisible Light: Acoustic Space.

Pre-order The Invisible Light: Spells HERE, set for release August 5 on Verve Forecast.

New York Times raved of The Invisible Light: Acoustic Space, “Burnett speak-sings his way through free-associative songs that contain biblical allusions, echoes of the blues, tall tales, lovers’ plaints and warnings about disinformation, the cult of personality and the encroachments of technology” while Los Angeles Times describes, “It’s not a significant departure, thematically, for this lifelong seeker of larger truths.”

The Invisible Light is a fusion of trance, electronic, folk, tribal and global music. At the heart of this trilogy is technology and how it has advanced significantly throughout the course of the last century, with radio, film, television and the internet serving as central parts of our lives. In acoustic space, people hear from every direction at once, the center is everywhere, and there is no border.

Multiple Grammy-and Oscar-winner Joseph Henry ‘T Bone’ Burnett is a producer, musician and songwriter. Burnett most recently released Acoustic Space, the first full-length installment in The Invisible Light trilogy, an experimental song cycle which explores the idea that society has been subject to a programming pandemic which is causing us to lose our ability to differentiate fact from fiction. Burnett also composed and produced the music for critically acclaimed HBO series True Detective, and his film work includes the five-time Grammy winning soundtrack for O Brother, Where Art Thou?, The Big Lebowski, Cold Mountain, The Hunger Games, Crazy Heart and Walk The Line, among others. He has collaborated with numerous artists including Bob Dylan, Elvis Costello and Roy Orbison, and won Album of the Year and Record of the Year Grammy Awards for Robert Plant and Alison Krauss’ Raising Sand.

Jay Bellerose is a percussionist best known for his live performance work. His drums and percussion credits include work with renowned artists such as Elton John, Leon Russell, Allen Toussaint, Ray LaMontagne, Gregg Allman, Regina Spektor, Willie Nelson, Allison Krauss and Robert Plant, Bonnie Raitt, Joe Henry and Loudon Wainwright III.

Artist, composer, producer and musician Keefus Ciancia has worked with a range of artists including Kimbra, Nikka Costa, Benji Hughes and Cassandra Wilson. Together with Jade Vincent he formed The Jade Vincent Experiment, an experimental film-noir band which led them to connect with T Bone Burnett after he heard their performance on KCRW. Ciancia and Burnett’s relationship blossomed, the two collaborating on several projects including HBO’s True Detective and The Coen Brothers’ The Ladykillers.

1. Realities.com
2. I’m Starting a New Life Today
3. Mother Cross (We Think We Think)
4. A Better Day
5. Casting A Spell
6. You May Leave But This Will Bring You Back
7. Mother Cross (We Think We Think) Reprise
8. Itopia Chant
9. A Better Dat (Reprise)