New Mastersounds

On Friday, July 1st, international funk group The New Mastersounds released “Gonna Get in My Way,” the lead single off of the group’s forthcoming 17th album The Deplar Effect recorded at Floki Studios. Located down the valley of Eleven Experiences' Deplar Farm in Troll Peninsula, Iceland, Floki Studios has become a destination studio hosting and producing sessions from some of the most notable acts in today’s music scene.

The New Mastersounds and Color Red are excited to announce the official launch of their first NFT project on Monday, June 13. Powered by Lively and Blockparty, those who hold this NFT will receive exclusive early access to "Watchu Want,"  a single from The New Mastersounds’ upcoming new studio album, The Deplar Effect.

The New Mastersounds’ guitarist, bandleader, and producer Eddie Roberts, has joined forces with Chicago’s West Side soul sensation, Omar Coleman, to release Eddie Roberts Presents Omar Coleman: Strange Times via his record label and music platform Color Red.

Founding members of The New Mastersounds & The Greyboy Allstars have formed The Rare Sounds featuring Eddie Roberts (The New Mastersounds), Robert Walter (The Greyboy Allstars), Chris Stillwell (The Greyboy Allstars), and Zak Najor (Karl Denson's Tiny Universe, formerly GBA). The group has released their debut single "Yeah, You" ahead of their debut performances at Cervantes' Masterpiece Ballroom in Denver, CO on October 1st & 2nd.

Lamar Williams Jr. is building off the momentum of joining the international funk group The New Mastersounds during their 20th-anniversary tour and the release of their Billboard-charting record ‘Shake It’  in 2019. The son of the late Lamar Williams, who played bass with The Allman Brothers 1972-1976 has released a brand new original solo single “Cold As Ice” available now on Color Red.

The dynamic instrumental cinematic funk/soul duo, Hot Mustard, is proud to announce the release of their debut album,  Mother Sauce, on Eddie Roberts' (The New Mastersounds) Color Red label. Drawing influence from mid/late 1960s and early 1970s funk and soul, the building blocks of first-generation boom-bap hip-hop, multimedia artist and guitarist/ producer Jack Powell and bassist Nick Carusos successfully work their own distinctive flavors into classic recipes with  Mother Sauce.

After the 2020 presidential election, Eddie Roberts of The New Mastersounds composed an uplifting and buoyant instrumental tune and invited some of his top-call vocal collaborators to contribute lyrics to the arrangement.

Out of an abundance of caution, we must postpone The Dream Team performances on January 30th, 2021at the Boulder Theater to the following date: May 7th, 2021. All existing tickets will be honored. If you're unable to attend due to the new date, refunds will be available for the next 30 days at point of purchase. Thank you for understanding.

The Dream Team is Eddie Roberts (The New Mastersounds), Jeff Franca (Thievery Corporation Live Band), Casey Russell (Magic Beans), Dan Africano (Ghost Light) & Nick Gerlach (The Pretty Fantastics)


In an age where artists get caught up with keeping up with the times and fitting into the conversation, Josh Hoyer and Soul Colossal make music for grown folks with their real, authentic songwriting.

The New Mastersounds are wasting no time kicking off 2021 with lightning-fast momentum with the release of a new digital single “Fast Man” on January 1, 2021 via bandleader and guitarist Eddie Roberts’ music platform Color Red.